09 October 2013 at 11:07

About tds return

During the year 2012-13 we have not made any TDS, should we require to file NIL return of TDS ? pl. advise

Thanks in advance sir

09 October 2013 at 11:06

Inspection of copies

I have applied for inspection n certified copies and i received my certified copies and letter of inspection but the date written for inspection was 3 oct 2013 but i received letter on 4 cot 2013.
What to do?
Now due to some reason i am unable to go delhi for inspection.So what should i do i mean should i need to inform delhi office? n how?

09 October 2013 at 11:05

About penalty for nil return

We have filed late NIL return of service tax, can penalty be leviable for late filing of return ? Our service tax liability was zero i.e. NIL Pl. advise

Thanks in advance sir

09 October 2013 at 10:57

Under reversed mach.

DEAR SIR

A LABOUR CONTRACTOR WORKIN A COMPANY COMPANY PAY TO TON BAISED HIS INVOICE AND COMPANY TREAT IN SERVICE TAX UNDER Business Auxiliary
BUT SOME COM. TREAT UNDER MANPOWER. WHAT IS RIGHT. PL. ADVISE ME.

AMITKUMAR KHOT
09 October 2013 at 10:45

Income from donation box

Income received from Donation Box of Temple can be taxable?

Please explain

Thank you

NAVNEET KUMAR JAIN
09 October 2013 at 10:29

Tax audit applicability

Dear All
One of my client who is Idea mobile store owner (proprietorship) having commission income in excess of Rs.25 lac from above activity. Kindly confirm wether it is a business or profession in light of following terming it as Authorised repersentative
ection 44AB defines separate Limit for Business(60lakh) and Profession(15Lakhs) ,so it is essential to understand what is business and what is profession . Few point to resolve this issue has been given here under for your ready reference.
`Profession' and `business' explained
1. The term "business" is defined in section 2(13) of the Act, as under :-"Business" includes any trade, commerce, or manufacture or any adventure or concern in the nature of trade, commerce or manufacture.The word `business' is one of wide import and it means activity carried on continuously and systematically by a person by the application of his labour or skill with a view to earning an income. The expression "business" does not necessarily mean trade or manufacture only -Barendra Prasad Roy v ITO [1981] 129 ITR 295 (SC).
2. Section 2(36) of the Act defines profession to include vocation.Profession is a word of wide import and includes "vocation" which is only a way of living. - CIT v. Ram Kripal Tripathi [1980] 125 ITR 408 (All).
3. Whether a particular activity can be classified as `business' or `profession' will depend on the facts and circumstances of each case. The expression "profession" involves the idea of an occupation requiring purely intellectual skill or manual skill controlled by the intellectual skill of the operator, as distinguished from an operation which is substantially the production or sale or arrangement for the production or sale, of commodities. - CIT Vs. Manmohan Das (Deceased) [1966] 59 ITR 699 (SC).
The following have been listed out as professions in section 44AA and notified thereunder (Notifications No. SO-17(E) dated 12.1.77 and No.SO 2675 dated 25.9.1992):
1. Accountancy
2. Architectural
3. Authorised Representative
4. Company Secretary
5. Engineering
6. Film Artists/Actors, Cameraman, Director, Singer, Story-writer,etc.
7. Interior Decoration
8. Legal
9. Medical
10. Technical Consultancy

The following activities have been held to be business :-
1. Advertising agent
2. Clearing, forwarding and shipping agents - CIT v. Jeevanlal Lallubhai & Co. [1994] 206 ITR 548 (Bom).
3. Couriers
4. Insurance agent
5. Nursing home
6. Stock and share broking and dealing in shares and securities -CIT v. Lallubhai Nagardas & Sons [1993] 204 ITR 93 (Bom).
7. Travel agent.

Prasanna v
09 October 2013 at 10:26

Trademark attorney registration

Dear Members,

Please tell me the procedure to register as attorney(practicing advocate)in trademark website.

RAVI KUMAR
09 October 2013 at 10:15

Equery

sir i completed my cpt now i join in ipcc both group...can u ans my query is if i passed one group not second group thn i fell or i passed first group and i focus on only second group? both group pass compulsory or not?

LINGARAJ
09 October 2013 at 10:07

Retun filing for tds on salary

Dear Sirs,
We deduct TDS on Salary for 7 instalments from (Aug to Feb) now we remitted TDS we deducted for the month of Aug as on 1st oct. now It is mandatory to file the Form 24q for the 1st and second quarter or I can file the TDS return at the end of the 4th quarter for all deduction made from Aug to Feb.Please guide me.

Roopkamal Arora
09 October 2013 at 10:04

Import export license

Hi Sir,

I want to know how to apply for Import Export License.What is the legal requirement a company should fulfil.

25 June 2026
Accounts & Taxation Executive

Dindukurthy & Associates

Hyderabad

MBA