26 January 2013 at 18:45

Case laws on point of taxation

whether date of accounting entry is the final evidence for the point of taxation??
one of my friend has received money in the month of April, but he has made its accounting entry in the month of December giving due narration that the amount was received in December only. As the amount is received in cash, he doesn't have proof of amount received.now the thing is service tax was exempt in the month of April which was made applicable from the month of july.As the amount is recd in the April month he is not ready to pay tax on it, while the service tax department is asking to pay the service tax on it as he has made entry in the month of December and at that time service tax was applicable.

Now please let me know whether accounting entry date should be the Criteria for leving tax??if the case laws related to this are there plase send me the link for it.....

yashsr

What is the value of Renting under the head 'Renting of Immovable Property' taken into account? Is it the Rent itself or 'Rent minus Municipaly Taxes Paid/Payable'?

There is a commercial property which a Partnership Firm has rented out for Rs.1 lac per month which makes it Rs.12 lacs per annum. However, Municipal Taxes(total of paid and payable) amount to Rs.3 lacs. Will service tax be applicable considering there are not other services provided by the Partnership Firm?

26 January 2013 at 15:33

Service tax limit

Dear all
my service is internet providing

please tell me

what is the service tax limit,
How to register,
How much collect from customers,
How to Pay,
in which site i have to file return and any other proceedings

please i am waiting for your replay?

vignesh srinivasan
26 January 2013 at 13:12

Registeration

1.i would like to register under servicetax most of the clients are asking me servicetax number, but my income is below 9.00 lakhs a) can i register under service tax and not collect tax b)any notification c) how to file my servicetax return -should be shown as nil or exempted or to specify any notification number

kunal
26 January 2013 at 12:44

Electroplating service

SIR,
IF mr.A receive electroplating service(on auto parts) for exporting auto parts..(he's not manufacturer of auto parts)
is he liable to service tax?
if yes then under which service?
if under works contract ,tell me the %age of abatement?

RAVI SONI
26 January 2013 at 00:41

Surrender of st-2

An individual assessee got registered with the Service Tax department in the year 2002 and filed ST-3 return till the F. Y. 2005-2006, from F.Y. 2006-2007 gross income was substantially low from the threshold limit so neither the assessee charged Service Tax from its client nor he paid any Service tax to the department.

During F.Y. 2007-2008 the assessee submitted a letter stating the reasons for non filing of ST-3 return thereafter on Feb 2012 the assessee filed an application for Surrender of ST-2, therefore in this regard I want to know whether the Superintendent can charge penalty for non filing of previous years return.

If an assessee can get relief from such penalty then is there any caselaw or notification regarding this matter.

CA Hemant Purohit
25 January 2013 at 16:57

Service tax on transportation

Our Company are providing transportation services to foriegn company for import of material in india,in that case our company will be liable to pay service tax.
Can u answer us what should be rate service tax ???
Is rate of service tax will be 3.09% or 12.36%
Waiting for your positive response.

25 January 2013 at 14:27

New registration

Dear Sir / Madam,

I am working in proprietorship firm, before 10 days we got service tax registration certificate, under Engineering Service-code is 00440057.

Now we will process our payment.but i have confused regarding accounting code.
Mentioned in my certificate code is -00440057, but i know as per notification from 1.7.2012 of negative list, new code is 00441089 for all payments.

Which accounting code is correct for our payment ???

its a very urgent.
thanks in advance.

Rajendra

25 January 2013 at 14:03

Service tax on restaurant service

We are in hotel business and having one AC Restaurant and One Non AC Swimming Pool Restaurant in our Resort Premises.
Sir, the company has license to serve liquor.
However, we are not serving liquor in AC Restaurant; we are serving liquor only in Pool Restaurant which has Bar too.
We are in dilemma whether to charge service tax on our Restaurant Service? And if yes, whether to charge service tax on Service provided in both Restaurant?

yashsr

A Charitable Trust is registered under u/s 12AA(1)(b)(ii) r.w.s. SECTION 12 A of the Income Tax ACt 1961. A Property owned by the Charitable Trust is given on rent to the OFFICE OF THE INCOME TAX(HEAD QUARTERS) Rent amt : Rs. 1,27,700/- p.m.

The Trust is formed to fulfil the following objectives: RELIEF OF POVERTY, EDUCATION RELIEF, MEDICAL RELIEF, for advancement of society

Does the trust have to collect Service Tax?

25 June 2026
Accounts & Taxation Executive

Dindukurthy & Associates

Hyderabad

MBA