banner_ad

CA Kamlesh Kasat
12 February 2015 at 12:10

Cenvat credit

my client is registered under the categary of works contract and service provider. he wants to purchase some machinery for business, my query is whether excise paid on purchase of machinery can be taken as cenvat credit as against service tax to be paid

S.M.Mohi Nizamuddin

Hi Experts

My client is developing a software for a south Africa company with his employees traveled to south Africa for the contract. the billing for this contract is done by the company from India.

is service tax applicable for this kind of services.

12 February 2015 at 11:46

Service tax on bus operators

MY QUERY IS THAT WILL SERVICE TAX BE ATTRACTED WHEN PRIVATE BUS OPERATORS GIVE THEIR VEHICLES TO SCHOOLS FOR PLYING STUDENTS FROM THEIR HOMES TO SCHOOL AND BACK.
ALSO WHAT WOULD THE ANSWER BE IF THE SAME BUS OPERATOR GIVES HIS BUSES ON HIRE BASIS FOR PICNICS TO THE SAME SCHOOL OR TO OTHER PEOPLE. THANK YOU IN ADVANCE.

11 February 2015 at 23:02

Service tax basic exemption

Receipts of Works Contract Service during the year = Rs.30,00,000/-

Which of the following method should be used for calculating service tax liability

1. (30,00,000-10,00,000) x 40% x 12.36% = 98,880/- or

2. [(30,00,000 *40%) - 10,00,000 ] x 12.36% = 24,720/-

Kindly guide in this matter at earliest if this is first year of business.

11 February 2015 at 20:29

Service by supplying a manpower.

I am in audit of a company supplying manpower.
What I have Noticed is that they have leived service tax even in reimbursement, Hotel booking expense, and in many similar confusing accounts.
please suggest me a sloution regarding leveing of Service Tax in case of Providing A service by supplying a manpower.

11 February 2015 at 19:32

Correction in service tax challan

Respected Sir,

We have deposited service tax all amount in one Head i.e. Basic (Service Tax 12%), not in Education Cess and Sec. Ed. Cess. so please clarify that challan to be corrected.

MAAZ
11 February 2015 at 18:10

About service tax

MY QUERY IS MY CLIENT NEED TO PAY SERVICE TAX IN MONTH OF JULY AND AUGUST BUT IN SEPTEMBER THERE ARE MORE CREDIT. SO ADJUSTED AGAINST JULY AND AUGUST.. SO I WANT TO KNOW WHETHER IS IT CORRECT OR NOT....
PLEASE HELP ME BECAUSE I AM USING WINMAN SOFTWARE THERE ARE SHOWN JULY AND AUGUST IN RED MARK,,,,,

11 February 2015 at 17:39

Service tax on cancellation charge

One of my client booked flat in under construction building
in the year 2009
payment was made by us 50 lakhs, agreement value is 1.20 crores
balance is payable

now due to new D.C.rules builder is not able to complete
the building and insisting on cancellation, he is executing
deed of cancellation and will give 80 lakhs (50 lakhs paid by
us plus 30 lakhs towards compensation)

my query is

1)whether this can be treated as long term capital gain
2)there is deed of cancellation.
Is this amounts to transfer of capital assets
3) Is this amt. is liable for service tax.
4) any other suggestion to take benefit of long term capital gain

11 February 2015 at 13:48

import of services (under service tax)

Company is having its office in India, has hired a person for foreign co. as president (CEO) form foreign co. but he was on payroll of Indian Company. for total tenure he worked with Indian co. CEO was getting salary from Indian Company.

Can you please suggest me whether it will qualify in service tax of import of services?

11 February 2015 at 12:58

Service tax return

Dear expert

i had obtained Service tax no. on 5/7/2014
but having turn over below exemption limit
am i liable to fill Nil ST Return. and if my firm turnover is remain below exemption limit till 31/3/2015. than will i have to fill ST return even in next FY.

Featured 02 May 2026
Senior Executive

hitesh chandwani & co

Pune

B.Com