manucma
16 November 2011 at 10:41

Exemption notification-sez

We are a a subcontractor doing thermal power project.Now one of our ongoing site is in special economic zone and the main contractor billing without any service tax.
As per the info got from them, service tax is exempted because of work done in special economic zone..
My query is..

1. Is it applicable to sub contractor?
2..if yes, what are the documents kept by us as proof of exemption?
3.is we have to take the registration in our site in sez ?

15 November 2011 at 20:26

what is service tax

can u explain it

CS VENKATARAMANAN S

For Service Tax ST-3 e-filing for the first time is it necessary to give a requisition letter to the superindent for user id & password? He insist us to give a physical return filed through the ACES Portal? Is it mandatory? Is there any way to create user id and password without going to the office? Please clarify....

Gokulesh
15 November 2011 at 19:16

Mandap keeper - chatitable trust

Can you please guide me on following issues i.r.o Service Tax.

A PUBLIC CHARITABLE TRUST, is giving halls, rooms, lawns for various function like Marriages & Parties.
The Trust is registered under category of Mandap Keeper for Service Tax and filing Service Tax Return regularly.

Trust is charging service tax separately for Bhavan booking i.e on Halls & Lawns booking.

However trust is Not charging separately Service Tax on following services :-

1)The Trust is charging Rs 3100 as an Entry Fee from its empanelled decoraters whenever there is any event.

2) Safai (i.e Cleaning exp) Charges are collected Rs 1000 from the customers.

3) Room Rent charges (different charges as per Tariff for AC & Non AC rooms)

4) (a) Trust has also given a part of its area for Restaurant purpose on contract basis, For which Trust is charging 15% commission on revenue from restaurant.

(b)Trust also charges share in electricity, cleaning expenses, charges for Utensils (Bartan) or any items demanded from store keeper of Trust by the restaurant contractor

Can you please let me know whether service tax to be collected on above 4 services.

SHALINI JAIN
15 November 2011 at 17:22

Applicability of service tax on builders

Plz can anyone confirm whether service tax is attracted on balance payments received from customers after 01.07.2010 where the Residential project is completed before 1st july 2010, booking and registration made before completion of project i.e before the builder has got the completion certificate.

15 November 2011 at 16:46

Service tax on freight above rs.750/=

We have received freight receipt in the name of our private Ltd. Company from transporter in which following is bifurcation

1. Freight Amount - Rs. 605/=
2. Labour Charges - Rs. 25/=
3. Cartage - Rs. 150/=
4. Misc. charges - Rs. 30/=
5. Other - Rs. 50/=

Whether We have liable to pay Service tax under GTA.

Raj Dutta
15 November 2011 at 16:17

Gta

Whether Service Tax is applicable on Freight paid to the truck/tempo owners for carrying goods?

Ours Company is paying Service Tax under GTA services on those Freight paid on local carriage exceeding Rs.1500/-.

So in my view we r not liable to Pay ST.
please refer to any case laws on the above topic,if any.to support my contention.

please Reply as early as possible.

Thanks in Advance

Raj

15 November 2011 at 15:51

Ledgers creation of service tax

i tally 9 I have to create ledgers A/c for Sales & Purchase,our Co. is service oriented co.please inform me how much A/c I have to open regarding Service tax.like input & output and most Imp. the cess A/c, & uder which head kindly infom me

Karthigeyan
15 November 2011 at 14:53

Facility service-st input food expenses

Great Day,

One of our vendor provide Facility Service like Man Power Service and provision of Food to employees those who are using company accommodation. our company provide place and utensils for preparation of food. They are purchasing all provisions and vegatables and provide food. They sent their invoice with Taxable Service, Service Tax and Cess. Let me know that whether it comes under definition of "Sale" and it comes under nature of Service and attracts Service Tax. And if it comes under service tax whether we can claim input credit against this invoice. Kindly clarify this issue

Yogesh Agarwal

I have a confusion regarding the registration with service tax department.. What is happening one of my client is having a complex and letting them out for rent.. The total rent received by him is Rs. 20 Lakhs. Out of this 20 Lakha, Rs. 11 Lakhs is received from Excise department to whome my client has given his proerty on rent to the ED.

So should my client take registration under the service tax under the category of 105(zzzz).. Since the rent except of ED is only 9 Lakhs which is below the threshold limit of taking registartion.

Need your attention and suggetion please...

25 June 2026
Accounts & Taxation Executive

Dindukurthy & Associates

Hyderabad

MBA