mahendrapanchal
23 February 2014 at 16:34

Regarding service tax query

sir,

MY CLIENT IS DOING THE JOB WORK OF READYMADE GARMENTS AND HIS TURN OVER IS APRROX 20 LACS
PLEASE ADVICE ME IT IS COME UNDER SERVICE TAX OR WHAT

SATYENDRA KR. GUPTA
23 February 2014 at 09:32

Service tax registration

Dear Professional colleague ,

I had applied for registration of service tax in ST-1 on dated 21.01.2014 user id and password has been generated ,but unfortunately hard copy of ST-1 with supporting documents is not submitted to the service tax department till date,can i have option for submit the said hard copy to the department which was applied on dated 21.01.2014.

Thanks & Regards
Satyendra Kr.Gupta

hemant
22 February 2014 at 19:16

Meaning of turnover

In case legal service provided by advocate or firm of advocate to business entity, business entity have to pay service tax in reverse charge id his turnover in preceding financual yera is above Rs-10 Lac.

My question is what is meaning of turnover in this case.
Plz explain with source.

C.A.Pooja Chauhan

Our Client, a private limited company based in India has taken loan from Overseas Private Investment Corporation (OPIC), an independent US Finance agency and paid commitment charges and other charges to OPIC only.

Whether commitment charges paid attracts Service Tax, if yes under which Rule/Section.

In our opinion Place of Provision of Services Rule 9, if Service Provider ie Bank or Financial Institution or NBFC is outside India, Service Tax is not chargeable, provided he must be a Account Holder and definition of Accounts says " An Account bearing interest to depositor". While our Assessee is not depositor, he is a borrower.

22 February 2014 at 16:32

Pure agent

the service provider is a security agency, providing security personnels to various company.

these companies pay the salaries to this service provider which in turn pays them to the security personnels.

Q1 will the service provider charge service tax on the bill amount including this salary component or only on his service charges,

s suresh
22 February 2014 at 16:31

Work contract

Whether Construction of Factory is Covered under Work Contract?
Service provider Is Firm
Service Receiver is PVt Ltd

We Service receiver (Pvt Ltd) said Reverse Charges mechanism applicable So Service tax Liability shared by us 50% Only you Should Coliect of (40% of total bill Value)

but Firm (Service provider) Saying that we not collected vat in this bill .So we wii collect entire portion (4.94% of Bill value)

kindly clarify pls

RAJESH (RKB)

As we know services provided by a Non-executive Director to the Company is covered under Reverse-charge Mechanism & the company has to pay Service tax on it.

Query:- A Chartered Accountant is providing services as a Non-executive Director in a company.
In this case whether the CA, acting as a professional have to pay Service tax.
Or The Company has to pay Service tax on the service received by it as Director Service, under reverse charge mechanism.

22 February 2014 at 09:37

Reverse charge of service tax

Ours is a manufacturing organisation. we are hiring buses from Andhra Pradesh State Road Transport Corporation for transporting employees from and to the workplace.
APSRTC is not billing service tax, whether we have to pay service tax under the reverse charge method since we are a body
corporate

Souvik Kumar Ghosh
22 February 2014 at 01:22

Service tax

A proprietorship firm which is liable to pay service tax under reverse charge on GTA services is asking the service provider (Individual) to pay service tax after recovering the same from him. What consequences can arise for both the parties and in such a situation how can what precaution should the service provider take?

CA MOHIT SHARMA
21 February 2014 at 20:02

Service tax charged in gr

whether a GTA can charge service tax on freight in his GR when service tax on GTA is covered under reverse mechanism ...

12 June 2026
Accounts & Taxation Executive

Winshine Financial Services

Mumbai

ARTICLESHIP 27 May 2026
CA Article Trainee

Rahul Dang & Associates-Chartered Accountants

Pune

01 June 2026
Audit, Taxation & Compliance Executive

R P S K & Associates

Nashik

26 May 2026
CA / MBA (Finance) / CMA / M.Com (Finance)

Sri Aurobindo Gnostic Centre of Education

16 June 2026
Sr. Associate / Assistant Manager | TAS / FDD

Boutique Investment Bank & Transaction Advisory Firm

Gurgaon