banner_ad

09 September 2010 at 13:35

Service Tax on Builders (URGENT)

Dear Seniors,

I have an urgent query regarding new circulars made applicable service tax on builders refer to Notification No. 29/2010 dtd. 22.06.2.1. applicable from 01st july, 2010

Detailed description can be view as per below stated link:
http://www.servicetax.gov.in/notifications/notfns-2k10/st-tru2k10/st29-2k10.htm

Question No.1:-
Will service tax be applicable on the payments received after 01st july, 2010 while we sent the demand letter before july, 2010 for the work completed?
Question No.2:-
Will service tax be applicable on the payments received after 01st july, 2010 while we sent the demand letter before july, 2010 for the work not completed?

Kindly treat it most urgent.

Thanks in advance.

Ganesh
09 September 2010 at 11:10

Arrears of Service Tax on rent

One of our clients have not paid the landlords Serive tax on rent wef May-09 based on the ruling by Delhi High Court.

Request you to clarify the following pioints:

What is the current position? Should we pay the service tax along with the arrears?

Should we make a provision of service tax payable for the F/y 2009-10.Is it a contingent liability?

If we make the payment now accounting treatment for both the
Finanacial years 2009-10 & 2010-11. and also in case if we take it as a contngent liability last year?

Thanking u all in advance,

Best Regards.

K.Ganesh

08 September 2010 at 20:14

ST query

One of the Tour Operator/Travel Agent is also engaged in providing the arrangement of Event Management he arranges from event management company and gets commission & further he charges more from Client ex.Event Service booked from Event Service Provider at Rs 1,00,000 & gets commission of Rs 5000 now he charges the same to the client as Rs 1,10,000,
In the given case how Service Tax will be determined & Under which Category it will be taxable as registered as Under Tour operator Category

himanshu vyas
08 September 2010 at 17:36

GTA

CAN WE TAKE SET OFF OF SER.TAX PAID ON FREIGHT AGAINS EXCISE. AND IF IN TRUCK BOTH EXCISEABLE AND NON EXCISABLE GOODS ARE SENT THAN ON WHICH AMT SET OFF WILL BE AVAILABLE

rangaswamy .d.r
08 September 2010 at 17:32

service-tax-query

if an assessee provide some taxable services in the month of August 2009 for rs. 92,947.60 (incl. of Ser-tax@10.30%)
against this he received advance in August & final settlement in October 2009

but the assessee obtained registration of service tax certificate in the month of January 2010,

he has not paid serive tax till now & now he has to pay the service tax

what is the interest and penanlty & whether ii is applicable from date of registration or date of service tax collected/due date of the same

08 September 2010 at 17:02

Query regarding Service Tax Registration.

ABC Enterprises is a partnership firm engaged in the business of courier service.

Firm was formed in August 2009.

Firm has a turnover of approx. Rs.80000/- as on date.

Firm now proposes to have Service Tax Registration.

Query

How the Firm can have ST Registration ?

That is, First Firm should complete the ACES formalities and get the PAN based STC number and then, it is required to pay Service Tax for the said turnover.

Ans : ...................

Whether the Firm can continue without obtaining Service Tax Registration and after exceeding the Exemption Limit, shall obtain Service Tax Registration.

Ans : ...................

Please advise how to fulfill the requirement and proceed further on the matter.

I shall await the Experts' Views.

Tarun
08 September 2010 at 14:45

Service Tax payment through Excise Credit

Dear all.
We have a Excise Credit angainst capital item as well as on raw material purchase.

Our current production is slow down and we are also doing labour work for other customer. In which we will made service charged invoice to our customer.

Now weateher we can utilise our those excise credit against payment of service tax aginst our service charged invoice? If yes that under which rule we can do this?

Your reply is helping me a lot.

Tarun Patel
Accountant
Shiv Engg - Vadodara

S.Jegadeesan
07 September 2010 at 19:49

Exemption Under Service Tax

I need to clarify one doubt i.e. If a Service provider can get the exemption upto Rs. 10 Lakhs If he is not collected the Service Tax ?
Ex: M/s.ABC Ltd has a turnover for Rs. 20 Lakhs from its activities during F.Y.2009-10 & not regd upto Rs. 10 Lakhs.Then only it regd & collect the Service Tax.Is it require to pay the Service Tax on the whole turnover? or the amount exceeding Rs. 10 Lakhs?
Pl clarify the above doubt.

S.Jegadeesan.

MAHESH CHAND GUPTA
07 September 2010 at 16:43

Service Tax on Works Contract

I am a Chartered Accountant practicing in Ghaziabad. I have a problem on Service Tax. My client got a works contract in November, 2008 under Kashiram Yojna of Uttar Pradesh Government. The houses constructed under Kashiram Yojna were distributed to poor persons without any profit. Uttar Pradesh Government gave First contract for construction of houses to different development authorities of the districts. Then development authority sub – contract the work to different contractors who constructed the houses. It was said by the development authorities that this Yojna is functioning on no profit – no loss basis and is for the benefits of the poor so no Service Tax is payable on these works contract. That’s why my client got no payment for Service Tax from the development authorities and not paid Service Tax on these contracts. Now, audit team from Service Tax Department came to my client and said that you are required to make payment of Service Tax for the payments received from development authorities under Kashiram Avaas Yojna. You are requested to provide remedial information. I shall be highly obliged.

Yours Faithfully,
Mahesh Chand Gupta
Chartered Accountant.
email – camcg49@gmail.com, maheshjindal2009@rediffmail.com
Mobile. 9871648140, 9212566323
Mahesh Jindal And Company
Chartered Accoutnants,
B – 13, Lohia Nagar Market,
First Floor,
Ghaziabad - 201001

vipin
06 September 2010 at 22:16

Liability

HERE IS THE PROBLEM THAT SERVICE TAX RETURN OF 1ST HALF FOR THE FY2009-2010 HAS BEEN FILED 6MONTH EARLIER SO NOW AT THIS TIME LIBILITY OF SERVICE TAX HAS BEEN INCREASED IN SERVICE TAX RAGISTER WHICH WAS NOT UPDATED DUE TO SOFTWARE PROBLEM AND NOW I CAN NOT FILE A REVISE RETURN OF FIRST HALF.THEN IN 2ND HALF RETURN TO BE FILLED NOW IS IT POSSIBLE TO CARRY THE LIABILITY OF 1ST HALF OR WE CAN NOT CARRY AND WE HAVE TO FILE ONLY 2ND HALF RELATED LIABILITY.

Featured 02 May 2026
Senior Executive

hitesh chandwani & co

Pune

B.Com