parag
21 April 2012 at 22:35

Gta applicability

Dear Expert

I am woking with shipping company and we have warded contracts to transpoters for transportation of containers from terminal to container depo. Transporter is charging Rs. 800/- for a 40 Feet container towards transporation charges through trailor. Please note that only one 40 feet container can be accomodate in a trailor (carrage) at a time. My confusion is that whether I should book Service tax liability on GTA for such payment. I have confusion of Rs. 750/- and Rs. 1500/- limit of GTA Please advice me at the earliest.

21 April 2012 at 18:06

Set of input service tax paid

Dear Experts

One of client has taken on franchisee of education and he has deposited security to HO and client has paid the security fees alongwith Service tax to HO and now client has charged ST from its students alongwith fees deposited.
My query is whether client could take benefit of ST paid to Franchisor and pay only balance Service tax of its output service. Pl guide..........thanks

21 April 2012 at 16:30

New monthly return

As per budget 2012 -
new simplified one page common return with Central Excise: to be called Excise & Service Tax Return (EST for short) is being introduced. The format of the return is given as Annexure D. It is also being proposed that the cycles for the payment service tax and filing of return should coincide. To this end the tax payment requirement is proposed to be revised as follows:
A. Assessees who paid tax of Rs 25 lakh or more in previous year and new assessees other than individuals and firms: Monthly
B. Others: Quarterly

From Which date this changes will be applicable. ? Is they are applicable for April'12 or decision is pending

harish
21 April 2012 at 15:17

Service tax query

Hi All,

I've one general query related to service tax hope u guys will me

Rs 60 Lakh limit for levying interest on late deposit ( i.e.18% ) refers to total value of taxable service per annum – Does this limit includes value of exempted services (exported services, services to UN agencies etc) too.

Thanks for reading.........

21 April 2012 at 14:36

Service tax return

To fill in the Service Tax Return we need the details of Invoices raised and monies received. Accordingly we put the figure in it. However, if a bill raised in 1st Quarter gets cancelled in the 4th quarter, then what impact will it have on the 1st quarters ST Return (since the time of revision is lapsed) and also the impact on the 4th quarter ST Return.

NIRMAL SONI
21 April 2012 at 14:30

Service tax

I have filed service tax returns for 2 half years, seven days has passed? But when I check the same at the service tax site It shows 'no records found'? Can anybody answer why this is happening?

RECENTLY WE FILED A SERVICE TAX RETURN FOR ONE OF OUR CLIENTS. AFTER UPLOADING THE XML FILE, WE CLICKED THE TAB "SAVE" AND NOT "SUBMIT". A MESSAGE SCREEN THEREAFTER APPEARED IN THE BACKGROUND WHICH INTIMATED US TO CHECK FOR THE STATUS ON THE NEXT DAY.
TODAY WHEN WE THE CHECKED THE STATUS FROM THE OPTION RET-E FILING-VIEW STATUS, THE STATUS WAS "FILED".
WHEN WE CHECKED THE SAME FROM THE OPTION "RET-PRINT ACKNOWLEDGMENT RECEIPT", THE SUB-MODULE NAME WAS STATED AS "ST3 RETURN-SAVE". WHEN WE CLICKED ON THE OPTION "SOURCE DOCUMENT" THE MESSAGE STATED AS FOLLOWS :- "THE FORM ST-3 (RETURN UNDER SECTION 70 OF THE FINANCE ACT, 1994) FOR THE YEAR 2011-12 HAS BEEN SAVED SUCCESSFULLY.THE RETURN NUMBER IS ....................... PLEASE QUOTE THIS NUMBER FOR FUTURE CORRESPONDENCE.

WE WANTED TO CONFIRM WHETHER THE RETURN IS PROPERLY FILED AND UPLOADED OR IT'S JUST SAVED AND YET TO BE SUBMITTED. IF IT'S JUST SAVED, KINDLY HELP US TO CONFIRM THE SUBMISSION OF THE SAVED RETURN? THANKS' IN ADVANCE

21 April 2012 at 12:47

S.tax

If a service tax provider's turnover during 2009-10 is Rs. 950000/- but he does not intimate the department on the same as required under law nor gets himself registered. In case, a case of evasion is booked against him, whether he would be eligible to avail exemption of Rs. 10,00,000/- or he would be liable to pay duty on the whole turnover.

Sandeep
21 April 2012 at 12:33

Credit of s.tax on f.yr.2007-08 bill.

Respected All,
Kindly give me the adequate way to perform the following:

Can I Take the credit of Service Tax in financial year 2012-13, Actually, S.T charged on vendor Service Invoice in F.Yr.2007-08 (Bill Dt.12.06.2007). However, Invoice had already taken in a/cs in financial year 2007-08 without consider the credit of service tax. Can I rectify by taking credit in this F.Yr.

Sandeep Jha

Harshavardhan
21 April 2012 at 12:12

Gta 75% abteatement

Dear Experts

Please clarify If we claim abatement of 75% on GTA. Cenvat Credit available on input services.

Please help me.

Thx & Rgs

Harsha

25 June 2026
AUDIT MANAGER

JDAS & ASSOCIATES