Mekhala
16 October 2012 at 11:18

Paid st

I am a GTA registered assessee and i have paid St on Freight inward from April to Sep. Shoudli File the ST-3 from april to june before 24th Oct. and then from july to sep in the revised format. Or from april to sep i have to file the retur n in the revised format.

Tanul
16 October 2012 at 11:14

Service tax registeration

One of my acquaintance is opening a consultancy firm in Chennai and he needs to register for service tax there.
Please tell me the complete procedure for the same including what forms need to be filed and where and also what documents need to be submitted as proof. He's planning to start the firm as a sole proprietor.

CA Ysil Karunai
16 October 2012 at 09:27

Reverse charge

Please Consider the following issue:
A Ltd is engaged in supplying Manpower to B Ltd. A Ltd is new company and is enjoying exemption limit of Rs. 10 lakhs under service tax.
Hence, Invoice raised by A Ltd to B Ltd under Manpower supply service is without charging service tax on the basis of A Ltd was exempted
Query:
1. Whether B Ltd is liable to pay service tax under reverse charge mechanism even though service provider is exempted.
2. IF yes, whether B ltd is liable to pay only 75% or 100% under manpower supply service?

ganesh

hi, i have purchased a underconstruction flat fronm x person, and x-person purchased this flat presviously from builder, now the building is under construction who will pay service tax , the first buyer or me(second purchaser)

15 October 2012 at 22:42

Service tax return apr 12 to june 12

As per new circular of central board service tax return to be file for the period Apr 12 to June 12 instead of Apr 12 to Sep 12.But when we download excel ST-3 return prepare software from aces site there is no option for period Apr 12 to June 12. Please suggest how we file service tax return April 12 to June 12.

15 October 2012 at 21:40

Advance payment

We have received advance payment of Rs 10 lacs in the month of March. We have discharged service tax on Rs 10 lacs in March on receipt basis. Later on the rate has changed from 10% to 12%. The billing in April is of Rs 15 lacs. SHould we discharge the additional service tax @ 2% on 10 lacs or only discharge 12% on Rs 5 lacs.

I think according to the POT rules I am not liable to discharge additional service tax @of 2%.

pls clarify.

15 October 2012 at 17:43

Service tax return to be filed or not.

Whether service tax return for the period ending 30.9.2012 can be filed or not, because aces providing notification that no return can be filed until another notification is comeout, but casansar provide information that u can file their service tax return within prescribed period. Suggest me appropriate Disclosure.

15 October 2012 at 16:52

Service tax reverse charges mechanism

We received some services (Valued Rs.1,00,000)from outside india in March (Invoice date March'12.).
We utilised these services for our generating income (Rs.1,50,000). We received the income in April '12 and paid the service tax on that within next 3 days .
However , we paid the non resident party in june'12.

Note :- 1.There is only one transaction and we can prove one to one correlation,
2. I believe there is no revenue loss to Dept. as we have deposited the full tax on income ie.
Income service tax = Abroad payment service tax + Income service tax Balance payment after Credit of Abroad Service tax.

1.Are we liable to pay Service tax under reverse charging Mechanism ?
2. Please provide any case law , if my points in Note are correct.

Magesh

Monthly vehicle (Car) hire charges bill we have received in that the vendor(V.k Tour & Travels) service tax 2.98% has been charged,
Please let us know how much % to be charges for Service tax in hire charges for Car travels

please brief,

15 October 2012 at 13:34

Amendment in st1

wheter amendment si required or not
the comapny change the name and adress of h/o
firstly the company have an adress as h/o in haryana with different name and registered in service tax in haryana
and now the comapny change their name and shifted h/o in delhi and b/o in haryana so how the amendment is made

ARTICLESHIP 16 July 2026
Article Assistant

Sahil Agarwal & Company

Mumbai

14 July 2026
Senior Executive/ Manager