03 May 2011 at 12:32

rent

sir
1.my client is owing few building which had been let out for Residential and commercial
rental income from above comes to Rs.11 lakhs is he subject to service tax?

2.Room rent of hotels are subject to service tax by new amendment,then any rental income from Property letout for commercial and resedentail put together with room rent of hotel (Proprietor)croses 10 lakhs -service tax is attracted?

BISWA RANJAN JATI
03 May 2011 at 10:29

Registration

WE have some commercial properties which is in the name of our director, if we want to transfer the said properties to a private trust does the registration under the service tax act necessary for the trust ( as the commercial rent of immovable property comes under the ambit of service tax).

KIndly guide me.

Thanks & Regards

Biswa ranjan Jati

Gopal Rathore

If there is material movement for 20 KM but vehicle was detained for 20 days because of various reason. Because of this if transporter is charging material movement charges for 20 Km & RS 1500/- per day as dention charges. Then GTA will be calculated on material movement charges or we have to calculate GTA on material movement as well as detention charges. Please clarify & also provide any case laws to understand this.

Nikunj Bubna
02 May 2011 at 20:41

Service Tax Input Credit on Rent

If a company which is in the business of Commission Agents pays service tax on rent of its Corporate office premises, does it get input credit set-off on service tax payable by the company on its turnover?

If yes, then by how much % is the credit allowed.

Please reply urgently
Nikunj

C.A.M.S.ROY
02 May 2011 at 18:03

value of service

At which amount service tax will be calculated if there is any adjustment made on the full settlement of accounts, such as bad debts
for example-total value of service is 25000/- including service tax and amount realised from debtors is only 22000/- and 3000 wrote of as a bad debts.

PRATEEK GOYAL
02 May 2011 at 12:14

Excess payment of service tax

what is the procedure to adjust the excess amount of service tax paid in the past on account of wrong calculation.

Please also clarify about disclosures in the ST-3 that will be filed later.

Indrasish Das
01 May 2011 at 21:45

service tax rate

is new amendment of service tax applicable for ca ipcc may 2011 gr-1 syllabus?

Sowmya.S.Balan

Dear Sirs,

In our case we are selling recharge coupons. We take registration for business auxilary services. We buy recharge coupons from uninor. Our income is only the commission that is the difference between the sale price & purchase price. In uninor,s bill they collect service tax from our part. We collect the same service tax from our customers. In our ST - 3 We show the sale price of recharge coupons excluding service tax as gross value against service provided. Purchase price of recharge coupons shown as value of exempted service and the balance is shown as taxable value of service provided. But our return is rejected because for showing any amount under exempted services the exemption notification no is shown. Which exemption notification can be shown ? or how to fill our return. Please help me its very urgent

01 May 2011 at 03:57

Value of Taxable Service

I AM A DIRECT MARKETING ASSOCIATE SINCE LAST 10 YEARS AND I AM WORKING WITH ICICI BANK ON COMMISSION BASIS AND I HAVE TAKEN SERVICE TAX NUMBER UNDER BUSINESS AUXILARY SERVICES. IN THE YEAR 2006, SUPPOSE THE BANK GAVE ME A STATEMENT OF MY ACCOUNT STATING THAT I HAVE EARNED Rs. 1000 AS GROSS COMMISSION AND DEDUCTED Rs. 600 AS SUBVENTION MADE BY ME TO THE CUSTOMER AS EXCESS DISCOUNT. THUS IT GAVE ME A CHEQUE OF Rs. 360 AFTER DEDUCTING TDS OF Rs. 40 EFFECTIVELY AND STATED THAT IT IS INCLUDING SERVICE TAX AMOUNT. NOW PLEASE STATE ME WHETHER I AM LIABLE TO PAY SERVICE TAX ON Rs. 400 OR Rs. 1000.
THIS IS MY QUERY AND MY MOBILE NO. IS 9780888976.
PLEASE ANSWER.

THANKING YOU

RAJBIR SINGH

Hitesh Patel

We are a private limited company engaged in constructing residential complex.

We are paying service tax @ 10.30% on 25% of gross value after availing abatement of 75%. Also we do not take CENVAT credit on input goods, capital goods or input services.

Now, our sub-contractor who does labour work for us and does not provide/use any material of his own is charging service tax on his bill.

Need to know whether this is valid if yes then under which clause?

Please reply its urgent.

Hitesh Patel

29 May 2026
Finance Head

Bhawar Sales Corporation

Chennai

Graduate (Any)

20 June 2026
Assistant Accounts Manager

Fintax Professionals

Gurgaon

ARTICLESHIP 20 June 2026
Articleship

RB KESHRI & CO

Mumbai

B.Com

10 June 2026
Senior Account Executive

JDS Advisory LLP

Ahmedabad

Featured 28 May 2026
SEMI QUALIFIED/ CA DROPOUTS/ ARTICLES

T R SOOD & CO

ARTICLESHIP 18 June 2026
Article Assistance

RB KESHRI & CO.

Mumbai

26 May 2026
CA / MBA (Finance) / CMA / M.Com (Finance)

Sri Aurobindo Gnostic Centre of Education

ARTICLESHIP 31 May 2026
Article Assistant

KPRS And Associates