Rakhi
02 May 2012 at 15:01

Service tax exemption limit

Friends,

Need help....

1. Obtained st-2 in the name of my proprietory concern on 16 -3 -2012. This is the first year of my proprietary concern. I have taken registration as i provide taxable service....
2. Filed half-yearly nil return on 25 april
3. Billing to be raised of 5 lakh
4. expected annual income to exceed 10 lakh

My questions-

1. Should I charge service tax on the billing of 5 lakh
2. When should I start charging service tax?

dipesh mehta
02 May 2012 at 12:33

Service tax n tds

TDS IS TO BE DEDUCTED ON GROSS AMOUNT OR NET AMOUNT INCLUSIVE OF SERVICE TAX ANY NOTIFICATION???

Sir, plz. clarify whether a firm carrying on business of construction of resi.complex can change the classsificaton to works contract service for the same complex/building during the project period? the firm not charged and paid ST till July 2010 as provided for construction services by the department. but from 1.7.2010 the firm is paying at 4% rate under works contract. is it correct?

kindly clarify..

CA Shruti kuchhal
02 May 2012 at 12:26

Advance recd. invoice

As per Point of taxation rules, 2011 POT will be date of invoice or advance payment whichever is earlier.

As per provisions of Rule 4A of FA 1994 Service provider has to issue invoice with in 14 days of completion of service or reciept of advance.

My query is that when advance is recd. whether the invoice will be issued of the whole amount of taxable service or only to the extent of advance.

In reality it is a general practice to issue invoice only to the extent of the advance but i am confused in theortical terms what should be done.

CA Ritesh Jaiswal
02 May 2012 at 12:12

Applicability of service tax

My Company is providing "Third party Inspection" service to Ministry of Home Affairs under the category of Technical Inspection & Certification service in respect of Roads constructed.My query is that :-
(1)Whether Service Tax is applicable on above mentioned service provided to Ministry of Home affairs?
(2) Whether after introduction of Negative List and exemption list in Finance Act is there any relief from applicability of Service tax for the above mentioned subject work?
Please kindly reply as early as possible?

Note :- (1)Above mentioned service is of continuous nature and still in work in progress.Service has been started before introduction of negative and exemption list.

Golak Panigrahy
01 May 2012 at 18:06

Cenvat credit

dear Sir
we are registered as Goods Transport By Road as service receiver liable to pay service tax & we are paying 25% of fregiht bill which not leived service tax.

we let to know that can we take credit of the service tax paid (i.e. 25 % of freight on which s.t. is applicable)

01 May 2012 at 17:09

Service tax registration

we are planning to form a new co. which will be a service organization. whether we should get it registered under service tax in the beginning only when we are not sure about the turnover that whether it will exceed rs 10 lakh... ?? after getting it registered can we avail the exemption benifit??

01 May 2012 at 14:52

Applicable service tax rate

Sir

We are a part of a Govt Company and we have contract with transporters for stock transfer from our HQ to Branch office.We are paying Service Tax as a service receipient on the Bills raised by the transporter.The service was provided in the month of Jan'12 Bill was raised in Feb'12 and we made the payment in April'12.I want to know wheather we have to pay the ST @ 10% or 12%.Pls help its urgent.

01 May 2012 at 13:42

Payment on accrual basis

we have to pay Service tax on accrual basis
ie) Date of Payment, Date of providing services, or date of billing which ever is earlier.

If I billed for Rs.20000+ST ie) Rs.22,060/-
in Jan 2012 and i paid the service tax in March 2012.

But i have received the payment of Rs.20000/- towards full settlement of my bill.

What i have to do?

There is any provision to reverse the amount of Service tax paid?

C.O. Lawrence
01 May 2012 at 13:41

Amending st3

I have already submitted St3 form for session April-September 2011. However when i tried to fill in this sessions St3 form ,an error was shown stating that the current opening balance and previous closing balance are not the same. Could you elaborate on how to rectify this? the 90 days period for revising the previous form is over, how can i change it now?

06 July 2026
Chartered Accountant (Indirect Taxation)

Gowra Ventures Pvt Ltd

Hyderabad

ARTICLESHIP 24 June 2026
CA Article Trainee

Rahul Dang & Associates

Pune