Filing of Income Tax Return for earlier year

14 March 2023 I had filed Income Tax Return for AY 2018-19 and got some refund too.

Recently, some errors in my Return has come to my notice, as a result of which I shall have pay to more tax instead of refund.

I want to file a revised Return now rectifying the earlier errors and pay the tax due.

What is the procedure ? Under which Section can I do it ? In addition to the tax due, what are the other amounts I shall have to pay (interest, penalty, etc) ?

Please guide me.

14 March 2023 Now you cannot file ITR for AY 2018-19 under normal circumstances. If you get any notice from ITD under e-verification or scrutiny, you may file corrected ITR in its reply.

15 March 2023 Thank you very much, Sir, for your kind, prompt reply.

There is a small error in my query. The Assessment Year is 2019-20, and not 2018-19.

Will you kindly review the situation and give a fresh reply ?

15 March 2023 Even for AY 2019-20 the answer remains same, as even updated return for the year cannot be filed now.

15 March 2023 Thank you very much, Sir, again for your prompt reply.

15 March 2023 You are welcome..