13 December 2013 at 17:40

Construction of commercial complex

My client has a residential plot in joint name with another person purchased in 2005. Now they have converted the same in commercial purpose and planned to develop commercial complex on the same.

If they give entire construction work to third party to develop the same and side by side got advance money step by step from proposed customers then what will be service tax and vat applicability to the land owner as well as third party constructing the property,,?

Whether land owner is required to collect service tax from customer..?

Please help..

13 December 2013 at 16:34

Manpower services

is labour contractor comes under the manpower supplier under service tax reverse charge mechanisim?

13 December 2013 at 16:10

Cenvat input credit

can any one please tell how much input credit we will get for all the common input services which are used in the contract services which includes both exempted and non exempted projects ??? i.e security services, telephone sevices, courier services, legal charges, advertising services,consulting engineer services and what about the input credit if he in sub contract the project to others...

13 December 2013 at 16:10

Service tax under reverse charge mechanism

Dear Sir

I would be grateful to you if you can answer this query

Background:
X ltd.is doing manufacturing activity where some Chinese engineers are deployed. X ltd. contracted with M/s. Y (Proprietor) for supply of 3 interpreters to translate Chinese language to English.

Query:
#1: Prima facie it looks like professional service rendered by M/s Y. But can it be constructed by Serv. tax dept. as "Supply of SKILLED manpower" & demand X ltd to pay ST @12.36% on 75% of value under Reverse charge mechanism?

#2: If the answer to the above query is negative;
M/s. Y is charging ST @ 12.3% instead of 12.36%. Company is paying the same to him & availing Cenvat credit. Is it the duty of company to ask M/s Y for fresh invoice, correcting the rate of tax to 12.36% instead of 12.3%

Kindly advise.

13 December 2013 at 15:45

Is export service exempt from service tax

If Indian comapany providing a service to foriegn company , the said serives are providing in india territory such as providing product promotion and providing clints to foreing company in india .

Is it liable to service tax and who shall pay the service tax receiver or provider

13 December 2013 at 12:58

Service tax applicability

Our company is a 100% EOU registered under STPI. We don't have any sales in india. My query is:
A) Do we need to register under service tax and file monthly service tax returns
B) Are we eligible to claim refund of service tax paid on Rent, internet charges etc., from the department without registering under service tax.

Respected Sirs

A individual contractor do civil contruction work in a manufacturing comapany. company itself provide materials to contractor. contractor provides only labours and charged from company as per man working day/per sq. feet of work done etc. for construction/ dimenting. now contractor has crossed the 10 lacs. therefore he requires to get himself regitered. my query is that contractor is fall which category of service tax & whether company is also liable to pay any amount. please also tell me that whether company is liable to pay service tax on amount more than 10 lacs only or all contractor bill of the current year.

thanking you

13 December 2013 at 11:31

Gta on reimursment of bill

we have taken service of CFA (seawave forwarding) for export goods he submit bill including transport bill (apeksa Logistics)
we have paid GTA and issue 26q tds nil rate in name of seawave it is right or not.

Sunil Arora
13 December 2013 at 10:42

Service tax surrender

Please tell the appropriate procedure for surrender of service tax number of individual and documents required for the same.

Kindly do the needful.

Sunil Arora

Mekhala
13 December 2013 at 10:20

Service tax on man power supply

dear sir,

from 01.07.12 the 75% 25% notification is levied. Before this that is for period from 11-12 and from 01.04.12 to 30.06.12 who is liable to pay the service tax on man power supply.

Please reply.

ARTICLESHIP 31 May 2026
Article Assistant

KPRS And Associates