A contractor who is registered under commercial construction as well as work contract category,under service tax Act, he has engaged in construction of road for govt. as well as GIDC or private company's site road,cooperative institution's inhouse road .Whether he is eligible for exemption provided by regarding service tax ? If yes kindly submit judgement or refrence.
Thanking You.
Query with regard to Service Tax Credit.
Is there any Percentage fixed for taking Service Tax Credit ?
If so, what is the percentage and it’s applicability.
For example,
What is the percentage for a Partnership Firm, engaged in Trading / Manufacturing Activity?
What is the percentage for a private company, engaged in Management Consultancy Service?
What is the percentage for a private company, engaged in Software Development?
I have wrongly filled up Form GAR7 Proforma for Central Excise payment for paying Service Tax in the month of Jan'09 to Mar'09. I have put my Service Tax Registration number and Service Tax Division and Range Code in the Form. My company do not have any registration for Central Excise even. What should i do now?? Is this a very major problem? shall I report to the PRO of Service Tax Department. I am very much tensed for this.
Please advise...
Thanks in advance.
Rama
case1. suppose a service provider raise a bill of Rs.100000+ Service tax.
He received a partial payment of rs.50000/-
now how much amount of service tax will be paid?
or he should change the invoice according to payment recd?
MY COMPANY TRANSPORTATION SERVICE RECD. FROM TRANSPORTER ON PURCHASES & SALES OF GOODS.
1. WHO IS LIABLE TO PAY SERVICE TAX?/
2. WHAT IS LIMIT????
3. SERVICE TAX NUMBER IS MANDATORY IF COMAPNY LIABLE TO PAY SERVICE TAX??
We are involved in trading of boxes. we sell goods in south. the bills raised include packing & forwarding charges @ 10%. Hence the bill is basic amount + 2% CST + 10% packing and forwarding.
We transport the same through transporters fixed by us who raise monthly bills.
Whether service tax is applicable on this packing & forwarding amount?
Query regarding non payment of service tax by client :
A raised a bill on B.
For instance, bill total value is Rs.27575/-, which consists of Rs.25000/- plus ST 10.3% Rs.2575/-.
B made payment of Rs.25000/- only without making ST payment of Rs.2575/-.
Now, A is unable to collect the balance Rs.2575/- pertaining to Service Tax from B.
Under the above circumstances, whether A has obligation to pay on his professional fees realised Rs.25000/- to Service Tax Department.
It may be noted that A has not received from B the amount Rs.2575/- pertaining to Service Tax.
Looking forward to receive the response on the matter.
one of my client,a Individual transport operator, had engaged in the business of transport of goods i.e. Food Grain from one govt godown to another govt godown on behalf of Collector of the Distt. My question is that whether my client is doing activity liable for service tax & if yes, then who will pay the service tax, i.e. my client as GTA or the Govt. i.e. Collector of the Distt.
please reply me at : gopiasati@rediffmail.com
CA Gopal Asati
Gondia
as per provision of service tax if a service provider raised bill less than 10 lac, he is not liable to service tax?
My question is celling of 10 lacs is service wise or in total such as (consultant eng + transportation> 10lac)?
If main contracor opted for composition and paying taxes on Gross value of the work.If part of the work given to sub-contractor morethan 10 lakhs for each sub-contractor.Then what is the liability of sub-contractor. Kindly clarify
Tax liablity on Road Contractor