Siddharth Nanda
11 October 2012 at 18:05

Reverse mechanism of service tax

I will be highly obliged if you can kindly clarify my following confusion.

" WE ARE INTO HOSPITALITY INDUSTRY, SOME OF THE VENDORS/CONTRACTORS,
ENGAZED BY US ARE NOT REGISTER UNDER SERVICE TAX SO THEIR BILL DO NOT
CHARGE US WITH SERVICE TAX. BUT AS SERVICE RECIVER WE ARE LIABLE TO
DEPOSIT SERVICE TAX UNDER REVERSE MECHANISM UNDER WCT CONTRACT & MAN
POWER CONTRACT.

OUR CONFUSION IS WHEATHER:

1. WE CAN TAKE CREDIT OF SUCH SERVICE TAX DEPOSITED BY US AS CENVAT CREDIT?

OR

2. WE CAN DEDUCT OUR SERVICE TAX PORTION FROM THE VENDOR BILL &
DEPOSIT THE SAME TO THE GOVERNMENT ACCOUNT JUST LIKE THE PROVISIONS OF
TDS.

C.A Alok Mukherjee
11 October 2012 at 17:59

Query on service tax

A corporate making some payment for advertisement to a local authority for displaying of their product, will attract service tax under reverse charge?

MANOJ KUMAR SHARMA
11 October 2012 at 17:38

Billing problem

thanx sir but my question is that should i add service tax in future or not i am under limit.

Ganesh Murthy

We are rendering services to a Foreign company for getting Purchase order from India companies. We are not executing the order and the foreign company only takes care of the execution of the order. Our service ends with forwarding the Purchase order placed on them. For which we are getting commission as consideration. The commission is some percentage on the purchase order value and the percentage is differing for every purchase orders. We are getting the commission in foreign curreny only. Shall we liable to charge service tax for that commission amount? Please someone clarify.

shankar banerjee
11 October 2012 at 16:34

Service tax on directors sitting fee

AS PER AMENDMENT WHETHER SERVICE TAX IS PAYABLE ON DIRECTOR SITTING FEES.

rahul sriwastav
11 October 2012 at 16:30

Services tax returen

What is the complete process of Services Tax Return by "Online"

With Regds.
Rahul Sriwastav

Tarun Kumar Aggarwal
11 October 2012 at 16:28

Does a seminar attract service tax?

I am a part of a Society in my college located in Delhi. We are planning to organize a Speaker Session/Seminar/Workshop in our college. The Session will be of 3 hours and we are planning to keep it a paid Seminar. Every participant will pay a Sum of Rs.200 to attend the Seminar. We expect 150 students to be part of it. I would like to know whether it will attract any service tax on our part? or any other tax? thanks

11 October 2012 at 15:32

Non file of service tax return

I Paid Service tax for the months of jan-12 & feb-12 in month of march-12 but till date i am not filed service tax return for the 4th quarter of f y 20111-12

What is penalty if I file return before 25 oct-12

Sunil

The negative list indicates that transaction in money or giving money as advance or deposit for consideration of interest or discount is exempt. However, it is very silent on the consideration quantum of discount or interest received on the deposit.

Therefore if a proprietor who does services of 10 lakh and above and pays service tax on his services, does he also have to raise an invoice on the bank for interest received in his personal fixed deposits or saving bank account. Does the invoice have to be raised and service tax paid based on dates the bank credits interest to his account.

11 October 2012 at 14:47

Service tax return for oct-march,2012

Can anyone tell me that why not service tax website is opened. I have to file service tax return. Date is nearest.

Kapil Bhatia

23 July 2026
Senior Accountant

Felicity Adobe LLP

Bengaluru

05 July 2026