Pradip

We are manufacturing company. After RCM notification 01-07-2012, from 01-07-2012 to 31-03-2013, our company has not deposited service tax on 75 % labor bill as per RCM notification. Please note, our company have paid service tax @ 12.36% on 100 % labor bill to our labor contractor and he has already deposited service tax @ 12.36% on 100 % labor bill instead of 25% labor bill. Please also note that our company has not taken credit of that service tax against its central excise payment on manufactured goods .
Now Excise auditor has issued memo to our company to pay service tax on 75% labor bill along with interest and penalty.
Sir, please inform us, should we pay that demand?
If yes, then how our company / labor contract get refund from service tax department?
If no, please provide us judgment / appeal order / notification on this.

Thank you.

Pradip

Akhilesh Kumar

27 December 2014 at 19:07

Service tax charged by others

how we can show the service tax charged by party in our books.

For example:

rent 45968
service tax 5682

total bill 51650.

27 December 2014 at 18:05

Tax on sale of immovable property

I have purchased a flat whoes agreement date was 27.01.10 & agreement value was 4.5Cr. before registering I have paid 3.5 Cr & balance 1 Cr paid on 13.08.13. O.C. for the flat is recd on 18.05.2013. At time of purchase & payment no VAT & Service Tax were Paid. Now Builder is asking to pay VAT & Service Tax.

As service Tax on Immovable property came into existence on 01.06.10 & VAT on the same was amended on 01.04.10.

Is Service Tax & VAT payable on above? If yes then on which amount and if interest is payable then from which date interest will be applicable?

Somnath

27 December 2014 at 16:21

Service tax paid by both party

there is one company who has charged n paid service tax for renting of their yard to another company of 1month but at the time of submision of bill, second party rejected bcoz they also paid the service tax...they are saying that provide us bill without S.T. now pls tel me our company already paid S.T. how to get back???

Pratap Kumar Ankamreddy

27 December 2014 at 12:51

Service tax and work contract tax

I have received WorK Order frm one of our client for " Supply ,Erection and commissioning of the Electrical structures including all associate works like civil works , jungle clearance, approach road formation etc.,

We have completed the everything. Now we have raised an invoice as under:

basic amount : 8 Lakhs
Tax ( WCT ) : 5% on 8 Lakhs

But our client not accepting clear WCT. advised to raise as wct-70% and Service Tax 30% on basic amount.
Note : We cannot bifurcation material cost and service cost.

How can we resolve the issue.

ratul baishya

27 December 2014 at 12:39

Tax advise

I have a software co. To develops and provide to the clients as per their requirements. Which type of taxes are attracted to the co. Plz systematically elaborate.

Akhilesh Kumar
This Query has 8 replies

27 December 2014 at 12:34

Regarding voucher entry in tally erp 9

I am working as a sole accountant in a private firm please help me in making an entry Bcoz as per new rule now we are deducting TDS on bill Amount not on Including Service tax.
Presently i am doing entry as bellow mentioned:
For Service rendered :
Dr. Party A/c
Cr. Consultancy charges
Cr. Service tax

For payment received

Cr. Party A/c
Dr. Bank A/c
Dr. TDS Receivable.

Please guide me in making entries as per new rules.

M.PORNIMA

Dear experts, whether can we take cenvat credit on service tax paid on renting of immovable property? if yes, is it that cenvat credit can be claimed only against the similar service of renting immovable property or with any other services ? Thanks in advance experts

26 December 2014 at 18:46

Reverse mechanism service tax

What is mean by Reverse Mechanism Service Tax ?

In My office we are giving the labour charges to the persons for cleaning, maintenance, plumber and electrician, carpenter and some repairs of equipments ?

The above category labour charges amount eligible to pay the reverse mechanism service tax or not kindly give the clarity of reverse mechanism service tax

Bhaskar Reddy

Hello all,
1. My Client Company is Engaged in Construction activities.
2. During the year it has Invested some amount in Securites.
3. It has paid some Brokerage to Broking Firm.

Whether Service tax paid on such brokerage is eligible for taking as Input against Company's Output(Service tax on Income from Constructions)

ARTICLESHIP 27 June 2026
Article

SNCO

Mumbai