banner_ad

binal salot
06 April 2011 at 11:26

Fabrication vs Manufacturing

on the workshop premises, we purchase material like angles and steel plates and by operations of different machines like CNC driling, grinding , cutting and welding machine we finally produce the pipe supports to be used in ships for support of pipelines. whether this can be considered as manufacturing or fabrication from the view point of Excise Act. Pls ask if any further details required.
can i refer any caselaws for this then pls suggest
thanks in advance

abhishek
05 April 2011 at 21:18

interest

inteerst on delayed payment of exicse duty from 2003-2010

rajneesh sharma

Ours is a steel manufacturing unit. The electric power bill, we pay a huge amount as excise duty. Can we take credit of the duty.

anckoora
05 April 2011 at 13:30

EXCISE DUTY ON BRANDED JEWELLERY.

We are mfrs of branded & also Non-Branded Jewellery in gujarat. From 1.3.11, 2% excise duty has been imposed on mfg of branded jewellery. For this, pl. clarify following :
(1) Provide me notification no for imposing excise duty on branded jewellery.
As per them, what is called "Mfg of Branded Jewellery" ? If we manufacture branded jewellery for other customer (with our material), then can we come under excise ? OR if we do labour job (with party's material-gold only)for branded jewellery, then also do we come under excise ? pl. elaborate the implications .
(2) Do we have to make two parts of our mfg area, i.e., one part for non-branded jewellery mfg & another for branded jewellery mfg ?
(3) Can we avail central excise exemption limit ? if yes, under what notification ? and upto how much amount and upto what period ?
(4) If we can avail exemption, then also do we have to register ourself with excise authorities, now ?
thxs in advance.
anckoora

vaithy
05 April 2011 at 10:59

Excise duty for Garments

any one can explain about garments under brand name:

i am manufature of garments under brand name, my turnover its nearly 7 crores,
can i get ssi exception,

Santosh

Suppose We issue an Excise Invoice as a first stage dealer without the commercial Invoice(TAX INVOICE).

Is it Legal under Central Excise Act and whether the buyer can claim the Excise credit of the same.

Thanks in Advance

Santosh Gupta

vaithy
02 April 2011 at 10:00

advance ruling

what is the meaning of advance ruling,

who are all coming under the rule

Avishake Garg
02 April 2011 at 08:30

Excise Duty on Readymade garments

There is a lot of confusion regarding the excise duty on garments among the manufacturers. there are certain points I want to clarify

1. Very Important queston is who is elegiable for registration with the excise department? or Who is exempted to take registration?
My turnover in 2010-2011 was around 60lakhs. Do I need to have registeration with the department?

2. Does every manufacturer have to do the excise formalities even if they are under the excemption limit of 1.5 crores?

3. I manufacturer kidswear which does not have MRP printed on it. I sell the goods to semi wholesaler and from there it goes to the retail counter. Therefore the final price to the customer is fixed by the retailer as per his profit margin.
Now is it necessary for every manufacturer (even if they dont have to registered) to have a MRP printed on the product?

Please advice.

seshadev sahoo
01 April 2011 at 18:42

E.R.1, 4,5,6

If A Assessee will not submit the all the excise return in time then what will be the penal provision for it or it is admissible. If it is admissible then what will be the limit & if it become a defaulter what will be the penal provision.

sunil

Dear experts

Recently I heared that there is new clarifcation given by excise dept. regarding er4,er5 and er6 fliling.In this clarfication says that no need to file er4,er5,er6 who had paid excise duty less than 1 crore.The clarification is given vide LETTER : [F.NO.209/03/11-CX-6], DATED 15-2-2011.Can anybody send the copy of this clarification?

Is the interpetation of limit of 1 crore is correct?

Request to give copy of this clarification and guideline from this clarification to all experts it is usefull to all duty payer

Sandeep

Featured 14 April 2026
GST CONSULTANT

Abhishek G Agrawal & Co.

Korba