25 June 2011 at 20:01

service tax on hotel room tariffs.

we are having lodging with following tariffs PER DAY

NON AC ROOM RS.700/-
AC ROOM RS.1299/-
AC EXCUTIVE RS.1399/-
SUIT RS.2150/-

PLEASE KINDLY ADVISE US HOW TO COLLECT SERVICE TAX ON ABOVE SAID TARIFFS.

SRINIVAS

S.M.Gulati
25 June 2011 at 18:29

Export of Services

One of our client is a manpower consultant for overseas client. Against the specific requirement of Different catogary of Man Power to be placed for employment overseas, give adds in the paper and after selecting proper candidates and with the approval of the overseas companies and against their visa sends the man power abroad. On such services it receives service charges in foreign convertable exchanges which are now exceeding Rs.10 lacs, please inform the aplicability of service tax on receipt of such export of services where the payment has been received in foreign convertable exchange.

Sanjeev Kumar Chauhan

Office & Residential building constructed by a contractor for Hydro Electricity Generation Corporation. Is this construction work taxable under Service Tax Act? Please give details.
Thanks in advance.

chandra sekhar
25 June 2011 at 17:23

service tax on sub contract

sir,
we have taken a sub contract from X company they taken from State Govt Electrical Board in this issue on service tax we can eliagable for cenvat or not and what is the service tax rate?

Amit Surana
25 June 2011 at 14:50

Payable on billing basis

A notification came that Service tax is payable on billing basis as on 1st July 2011, I want to know that what does the statement says? Is they are saying that whether you have received the amount of services provided or not you have to pay the service tax on the full amount billed?

manoj
25 June 2011 at 13:42

CENVAT CREDIT from 1.04.2011

We are consultancy eng. company.All income of our are subject to service tax.
1.Can we take credit of service tax paid on land line telephone,mobile,insurance premium etc.?
2.We also pay service tax on Goods Transport service,till 31.03.11 we have taken credit as machinery are transported from godown to site and back to godown.Used in relation to providing out put service.Can we take credit of GTA after 01.04.2011?
3.After point of taxation,is there is any set off/credit of service tax allowed for bad debts,less payment than invoice amount or non-payment till ST-3 return or till year end?

Pradeep Sharma
25 June 2011 at 13:09

Service Tax Registration

i hv applied service tax no. online but by mistake it register as Non Assesse.

plz give me suggestion.

i was fill "form for registration of Non Assessees"

dhirednra kumar mallick
25 June 2011 at 12:39

Liability of Service tax

In an Educational Institution providing school education upto class 12 hiring cab for carrying students & charging the transportation fees to students and the transporter is not charging the service tax & not paying the same , kindly advise who will pay service tax . The service provider or the educational Institution.

Thnaks & regards

25 June 2011 at 11:59

liability to pay service tax

My question is who will liable to deposit the service tax if the contractor is not depsoiting the same & not charging to to employer.

In that case , whether the principal employer is liable to pay tax? Kindly advise.

Tirthankar Mukherjee
25 June 2011 at 10:42

Availment of input credit

Is a company can avail input tax credit for service tax paid on its director's mobile bill or mediclaim premium? Though the bill is not in the name of the company. Please resolve this with references, if any.

ARTICLESHIP 24 June 2026
CA Article Trainee

Rahul Dang & Associates

Pune