Vinayshankar Jha
11 December 2012 at 18:08

Nedd help on service tax & vat

Dear Freinds,
I have a invoice in which the supplier has charged service tax on entire amt @ 12.36% & Vat is also charged & 8% on the same (net) amount. I wish to knwo is it the right procedure? Example: Net Amount Rs 19700 Service Tax @ 12.36% 2435 8% MVAT (OUTPUT) 1576

If an individual is giving his house on rent, then there is no service tax on renting for residential service. Suppose the individual charges Rs 70000/- p.m. as rent and apart from it Rs 50000/- p.m. for lift, parking, computer, garden and water supply. Now firstly the rent is out of purview of service tax. Secondly since the amount received for other services is less than Rs 10 Lacs in a year, there is no service tax liability on the individual (landlord). Is this contention correct or not?

RIJWAN S. ANSARI
11 December 2012 at 16:10

Service tax payment

I HAVE COLLECTED SERVICE TAX AMOUNT IN NOV 2012 FOR THE PERIOD APR TO SEP 2012, HOWEVER I HAVE REGISTERED FOR SERVICE TAX IN SEP 2012 ONLY.

SO MY QUERY IS WHETHER TAX IS PAYABLE ON AMOUNT PERTAINING TO BEFORE REGISTRATION OR NOT. KINDLY EXPLAIN

Sweta Kalantri
11 December 2012 at 14:36

Place of provision of service

Place of provision(POP) for Classroom teaching is to be determined as per Rule 4(b) of POP services rules , 2012. As per the said rule the POP will be place where services are actually performed i.e class room. What would be the POP in case of video coaching services in the following cases-
1. Rendered from non-taxable territory to service recepient situated in taxable territory.
2. Rendered from taxable territory to service recepient in non- taxable territory.

kanaklata chauhan
11 December 2012 at 14:15

Renting of movable property

WHAT ARE THE PROVISIONS BEFORE 1-7-2012 AND AFTER 1-7-2012 FOR RENTING OF MOVABLE PROPERTY?
IF SERVICE PROVIDER IS LARGE SERVICE PROVIDER (SERVICES EXCEEDING 10 LAKHS)HOW WILL IT BE TAXABLE?

11 December 2012 at 13:18

Service tax on commissions income

I understand service tax is chargeable on commissions income of > 10 L pa.What if the agent is not sure what would be his income at the end of year.How does he charge customers per transaction till he knows?
I am talking about a real estate broker here.

Krishan Kumar Goyal
11 December 2012 at 12:59

Delay return

I have get my service tax registration in april 2010 but due to some reason i could not file my service tax return till date please tell me what is minimum panelty if i continue and if i surrender my service tax registration and for your kind attention i want to tell you that there is no work no service tax liability since 2010 to 2012 there is nil return

thanks in advance

Dasharath Appa Pujari

Can we take a credit of Service Tax Paid under reverse charge (Import of services) to pay Excise/Service Tax Liability?

What is the due date for payment of Service Tax on Import of service i.e.whether its a date of invoice booking or date of party payment or 5th following month of Invoice Booking Month?

11 December 2012 at 10:41

Place of provision rule 8

My client (pvt co.) doing business of outdoor catering.
my quetion is that is service tax applicable in following situation as per rule 8 :

client (service provider)provides catering service outside india (eg australia)receive money in foreign currency in india but the service receiver(having its division world wide)is registed in india as public limited.

whether service tax applicable as per rule 8?

samscool

Dear Sir/Madam,

I have received a security charges bill on which service tax charged only 25% of service tax and the remaining 75% is payable by us to the service tax department (according to reverse charge mechanism )but know i want to know how we will pay this 75% service tax amount because we are registered under tour operators services.

and is there any new challan form for this types of payments.

kindly advise.

regards....... Shekhar Arya

ARTICLESHIP 30 June 2026
Taxation Content Writer Intern

Interactive Media Pvt Ltd.