RBI ACT, 1934

This query is : Resolved 

25 February 2008

What criteria does RBI follows before including the bank in the SECOND SCHEDULE ? Is the constitution of the organisation viz. Comapny, firm, Cooperative Society, etc. considered or material in this respect ?

R.V.RAO (Expert)
26 February 2008

As per the Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934, banks in India are classified into scheduled and non-scheduled banks. Scheduled banks are those which are entered into the second schedule of the RBI Act, 1934. It includes those banks which have a paid-up capital and reserves of an aggregate value of not less than Rs.5 lakhs and which satisfy RBI that their affairs are being carried out in the interests of the depositors. While, non-scheduled banks are those which have not been included in the second schedule of the Act. The scheduled banks comprise scheduled commercial banks and scheduled cooperative banks. Further, the scheduled commercial banks in India are categorised into five different groups according to their ownership and/or nature of operation:- (i) Nationalised Banks; (ii) State Bank of India and its associates; (iii) Regional Rural Banks (RRBs); (iv) Foreign banks; and (v) Other Indian private sector banks. Scheduled Co-operative Banks consist of Scheduled State Co-operative Banks and Scheduled Urban Co-operative Banks.

At present, there are 218 scheduled commercial banks (including foreign banks) in the country. These include 161 banks in the public sector, of which 133 are regional rural banks (RRBs). The remaining 28 banks consist of 19 nationalised banks, 8 banks in State Bank of India group and the Industrial Development Bank of India Limited (IDBI Ltd). Besides, there are only three non-scheduled banks in the country.

vivek keserwani (Querist)
07 March 2008

You need to be the querist or approved CAclub expert to take part in this query .

Click here to login now

Similar Resolved Queries :

close x
Download GST App    |    x