THE SERVICE TAX ON FREIGHT CHARGES IS TO BE DISCHARGED BY THE PARTY THAT PAYS THE FREIGHT. IN ONE INSTANCE WE HAD SUPPLIED MATERIALS FOR EQUIPMENT UNDER WARRANTY DIRECTLY FROM A SUB CONTRACTOR TO OUR CUSTOMER. SINCE THE SUPPLY WAS UNDER WARRANTY, THE FREIGHT CHARGES WERE PAID THE CUSTOMER AND THE SAME WAS DEBITED TO OUR ACCOUNT. THE CUSTOMER HAS RAISED A BILL FOR THE FREIGHT AMOUNT DULY CHARGING SERVICE TAX THEREOF. THE QUESTION IS SINCE THE FREIGHT CHARGES ARE ULTIMATELY BORNE BY US , ARE WE SUPPOSED TO PAY SERVICE TAX?
I want to know whether we can take credit of any type of repair & maintenance service whether related to
office maintenance(e.g house keeping) as a common service in case of both type of taxable as well as non taxable service
I am Paying service tax Interest in Lacs but after some time i found i don't required to pay interest any refund procedure of interest in service tax rule.
Yogesh
One of my client who has turnover upto 15th April is Rs. 5.00 lac and has further raised a bill of Rs. 7.00 lac.
Sale upto 15.04.2010 5.00 lac
one single bill(16.04.2010) 7.00 Lac
Now I want to know that on which date I should apply for registration.
what will be my tax liablility as I want to avail the exemption of Rs. 10.00 lac as per notification No. 8/2008 dated 01.03.2008.
At the time of asking the registration The Department has opine that I have to pay tax on total sales of 12 lacs and I can not claim the threshold exemption as per notification No.8/2008, and i have to forgo the exemption as soon as I take registration. and has to collect tax on the previous bill of Rs.5 lacs also. How far the point of department is feasible
One of my client has started outdoor catering business and has a turnover of Rs.3 lakhs. He want to get himself registered under Service Tax. can he claim exemption of Rs. 10 lakhs even after getting registered and start charging service tax only after his receipts exceed Rs.10 lakhs.
My another query is whether he has to pay tax on total billing or only on part exceeding Rs.10 lakhs.
Please reply with suitable notifications if any
Girish Sharma
Company got incorporated with object clause of insurance business. But business income has not been arrived as company has not obtained licence from IRDA so far. Can company accumulate service tax paid during this period on expenses incurred for utilizing it as CENVAT credit for future service tax liability of the company ,even though company has not applied for service tax registration and therefore not filed service tax return as well?
i have working with foundry industries
we are casting manufacturer.in kolhapur.
There are one enquiry from xyz party.
The xyz party give us raw material for their castings & they need labour charges invoice for this job.
this practice is new for us.
how can i make this invoice
which taxes applicable for this invoice.
how can i inword this Raw material in our primises.
pls.guide me.?
Please guide me current status of Service tax on rent on immovable property. As we all know Through budget defenetion has been changed. budget pass and now what to do ? What is status of cas pending in Supreme court? Whether we have to depsoit pendinf tax of wait till service tax official approach us.
I have modified the details in service tax registration online on ACES portal, but inadvertently i have entered wrong spelling of the address as well as wrong address of the director/authorised signatory. Though I tried to modify it again but that was submitted so was not available for modification.
Experts please guide me
Kindly clarify Service tax and VAT both are payable on Machinery hire charges.
Online GST Course - Master the Fundamentals of GST with Practical Insights
SERVICE TAX ON FREIGHT CHARGES