Taxation of charitable trust

30 March 2016 Xyz is a trust registered under income tax and having 80G certificate

During the year 13-14
Gross receipt from school fees-15 lacs
School expenses-14 lacs
Income/profit-1 lac

I have to file income tax return of the trust but not sure whether 85% is to be calculated on gross receipt or net profit

Waiting for the views of the expert ???

30 March 2016 To be calculated on gross receipt.

05 April 2016 but in itr form it says net profit and gross receipts

26 July 2025 You're absolutely right to seek clarification — this is a commonly misunderstood area when it comes to charitable trusts under the **Income Tax Act, 1961**, especially in relation to **Section 11** and **Section 12**.

---

## ✅ Answer:

**The 85% application rule is based on the Gross Receipts**, **not net profit**.

---

## 🔍 Explanation:

### ✔ What the Law Says:

Under **Section 11(1)(a)**:

> A trust is required to **apply at least 85% of its income** (i.e. receipts) **for charitable purposes** to claim full exemption.

So in your example:

* **Gross receipts (school fees): ₹15 lakhs**
* **85% of ₹15 lakhs = ₹12.75 lakhs**
* **School expenses: ₹14 lakhs**

Since the trust **spent more than ₹12.75 lakhs**, the requirement is met — the **entire income of ₹1 lakh becomes exempt**.

### 📌 Important Note:

The term “income” under Section 11 is interpreted by courts and the CBDT to mean **gross receipts**, not merely accounting profit (net profit).

---

## 🧾 Filing ITR:

When filing **ITR-7**:

* You **mention both** gross receipts and net income.
* In **Schedule AI** and **Schedule ER**, you'll report:

* Total receipts (₹15 lakhs),
* Total application (₹14 lakhs),
* Balance of income,
* Whether 85% rule is met.

---

## 🛑 Mistake to Avoid:

Do **not** calculate 85% on **net income/profit** (₹1 lakh in this case), or else the trust may be wrongly considered as having not applied sufficient funds and may face tax on “accumulated” income.

---

### ✅ Summary:

| Item | Amount (₹) |
| ----------------------------- | ------------------------------------------- |
| Gross Receipts (School Fees) | 15,00,000 |
| Required Application (85%) | 12,75,000 |
| Actual Application (Expenses) | 14,00,000 |
| Result | ✅ 85% rule satisfied — entire income exempt |

---

If you need help filling out **ITR-7** or generating the proper schedules for a trust, I can help guide you through the fields.