Itr for last year

17 July 2013
Hi all,

I am a central government employee with annual income just above 10 lacs(no other source of income) and last year missed to file the return.Pls guide me whether i need to file returns for the current and the previous year separately?
and which forms to be used?

Thankyou

17 July 2013 Yes you need to file the return of both the years separately. Return to be filed in ITR 1.

Due date of filing return for AY 2013-14 (FY 2012-13) is 31st July 2013.

Last date of filing return for AY 2012-13 (FY 2011-12) is 31.03.2014 (Penalty of Rs 5000/- may be imposed by AO u/s 271F).

17 July 2013 As per sec 139 u can file belated return for ay 12-13 upto 31.3.2014 with a penalty of Rs 5,000 u/s 271F.

For AY 13-14 u should file itr 1 on or before 31.7.2013 to avoid penalty of rs 5,000 as mentioned above.

18 July 2013 Dear Tushar for AY 2013-14 due date is 31.07.2013 for filing Income tax Return u/s 139(1). Belated return u/s 139(4) can be filed till 31.03.2014 without any penalty. with penalty of Rs 5000/- u/s 271F (May be imposed by AO) return can be filed till 31.03.2015.