filing of the return with new PAN or not

12 July 2009 Dear all,

My sister got her old PAN cancelled after marriage and been allotted with a new PAN. The TDS during the year deposited by deducting parties mentioning her old PAN. Now , the return is to be filed.
Please guide for what PAN should be used for filing the return. If the return is filed with new PAN, will there be any problem in TDS adjustment.
CAN THE RETURN BE FILED WITH THE OLD PAN AS IT STILL THERE ON INCOMETAX WEBSITE?

12 July 2009 You should not have apply for cancellation of PAN. Instead of that you should have applied for change in PAN data. Definitely your case is little complicated now. In my opinion, you should claim the TDS and at the time of assessment, present yourself with all relevant and necessary documents to Assessing officer. I think this will be given consideration by him. I would also like to know the opinions of other experts.

13 July 2009 Tarun you are right .. . I am fully agree with you.

13 July 2009 The another solution is to mention New PAN itself in the return itself but attaching the necessary documents through you have changed the PAN attaching with the return for better dissemination of relevant to AO.
As a result, you won't feel the possibility of not getting the credit of such TDS.

13 July 2009 But documents are not attached now with ITR Nitin Ji. Then what to do???

14 July 2009 In Mumbai, it is still compulsory to attach the relevent documents.