Sunil

19 March 2013 at 21:47

Rcm

Since 1/7/2012 a service is taxable if it does not fall under the negative list and if it is provided or deemed to be provided in taxable territory.

However, in RCM it is mentioned that if service provider is in non taxable territory and service receiver is in taxable territory, then the service tax on the services received is payable by the receiver.

Does this mean that if services, whether taxable or under negative list or exempt or provided in non taxable territory are received by a business in India from a provider in a non taxable territory, the same would be subject to service tax?

Eg. if a person goes on business tour abroad and avails of following services:-
1) Hotel room above Rs.1000 (taxable in India but by place of provision rule not taxable as in non taxable territory)
2) Metered Taxi (Not taxable in India under negative list.
3) Eating food in a/c restaurant (taxable in india but provided in non taxable territory as place of provision requires the presence of individual. In India a foreigner would also be charged service tax by provider for such service)

Although these should be exempt, is the RCM also applicable for services that are determined to be not taxable if received by Indian businessman from foreign provider in non taxable teritory?

omprakash

19 March 2013 at 19:31

Interest calulation of service tax

Sir Please Help Me

what is the Interest & Penalty of service tax in financial year 2009-2010
& 2010-2011 & 2011-2012,
please clarify this
very urgent & need full
it will be very help full for me sir/madam

YK Sharma

Individual consignment for singular consignee fregt value exceeding 750 but below Rs 1500. May like to eloborate service tax payble or not by service recipient and what rates with circular references please.
YK Sharma

19 March 2013 at 17:09

Wct-vat & service tax entry

In Case of Works Contract Service we have to pay both VAT & Service Tax,

For VAT if we are not able to separate Value of Material & Labour charges we go for standard deductgion option (e.g. in Maharashtra 25% standard deduction is available for labour)and on balance we have to pay VAT,

However,for service tax the chargeable value is 40% of total contract price as per service tax rules.Therefore we are paying tax on 115%(i.e.75%+40%).What is the solution for this and how to pass accountinf entries.

Please reply at the earliest.

19 March 2013 at 11:37

Construction of residential complex

My builder who is engaged in the business of construction. Th builder has made the agreements with the residential property owners to built up there properties in four floor & given the three floors to the property owners & the remaining floor is to be sold in the open market. Whether service tax is applicable on these transaction & what amount of service tax is applicable on these transactions. The building is residential units.

kumudprakash k doshi

individual is providing s security service to another individual Proprietory concern who is not registered under the Factory Act or central excise whether the service receipt is require to registered under the Service Tax Act and pay the service tax on service above service received by hi after 01/07/2012

vasudev Murthy

19 March 2013 at 10:15

Tax implications

We are Planning to Launch a informative CD for Students which will felicitate them in making themselves Job ready.
For this we would like to bundle some services like Free resume writing and other host of services.

We wanted to sell this as Service only ...Which model is good in terms of lesser tax out go and being tax compliant?

Selling as a Service or selling as a Product ( CD Software)

Please help us deciding our Business model

DEEPAK MANDAL

18 March 2013 at 21:44

Quarries on st returns

One of my friend, named Manoj have ST Number "APFPS8395QSD002" issued on 04.12.2012 but as on date his Sale/Invoice is NIL.

1. What is the Last Date of 2nd Quarter and when sale is NIL, return is mandatory ?

2. After issue ST Number, when ST will applicable, From 1st Bill or After Sale of 10 Lakhs ?

Kaushal Yadav

One of my relatives is the owner of Authorized sales and service station of two wheeler motor bike – Bajaj Auto ltd. The service station is situated in a rural place of distt- Ballia(U.P). The gross turnover from service is not more than 2.5 lakh in any accounting year. Are we falling in the service tax liability criteria?

Please advice.

Rajendra Ahire

18 March 2013 at 16:05

Service tax-reg. certificate amend

I am an accountant in a Pvt. Ltd. company. i have following que. please help me...i am asking que. to each experts but everyone cant gate satisfied answers.

Our labour contractor billed to us 100% service tax & fully paid by him. now, auditor telling that pay our part of 75% amount of that. and amend service tax certificate. i was gone to service tax department, they told me for online amendment & submit hard copy for the same. i am confuse now, which service select & how will be payment code ?

Please guide me !!! its a very urgent.