Urgent question regarding section 44ad for my case

11 September 2012 This question is for Financial year 2011-12 for which i have to file returns before 30 Sep 2012. Replies would be highly appreciated.

I am propreitor doing software service business. This year I have revenue of 55lakh. But in each of previous 2-3 years I have revenue of more than 80 lakhs and accounts were audited.

But in mid of this year I splited by business and started Pvt Ltd. Hence my revenue dropped to 55lakh for 7 months. But i gained salary from Pvt Ltd (around 12 lakhs) for remaining 5 months.

Moreover I done futures/options/commodity trading. (volume is huge, but profit under 10 thousand)

Also I have bank interest of more than 7 lakhs.

My question is am I eligible for 44AD?

Will be highly appreciated if someone can confirm early.

Thanks and regards,
ajay.

12 September 2012 Yes

Anuj
femaquery@gmail.com

12 September 2012 Anju,
Thanks. But could you re-confirm.
Will the salary from my private limited will not affect my propreitorship revenue?

Also for 7 months i did business as propreitorship. then next 5 months i worked as director in pvt ltd. I hope i can still file my return as bussiness and not salaried individual? because i think 44ad is not valid for professional or salaried people.

Also earlier i didnt know i will start pvt limited. so i have more than 5 lakh income tax refund. I can claim that rite?

regards,
ajay

13 September 2012 If someone can clarify?
sorry again putting this query to open

02 August 2025 Here’s a detailed response for your **Section 44AD eligibility** and related issues for FY 2011-12 based on your situation:

---

### Your facts recap:

* Proprietorship business (software services) revenue for part of year: ₹55 lakh
* Previous years: turnover > ₹80 lakh (audited accounts)
* Mid-year, you started a Pvt Ltd company, so revenue dropped in proprietorship to ₹55 lakh for 7 months
* Salary from Pvt Ltd (as director): ₹12 lakh for remaining 5 months
* Futures/options/commodity trading with large volume but negligible profit ( ₹7 lakh

---

### 1. **Eligibility for Section 44AD (Presumptive Taxation for Business):**

Section 44AD applies to eligible businesses with turnover up to ₹1 crore (limit was ₹1 crore for FY 2011-12). Key points:

* **Turnover limit:** Your proprietorship turnover ₹55 lakh ₹7 lakh is taxable under **Income from Other Sources**.
* This is **not part of 44AD** presumptive income.

---

### 5. **Filing return**

* You can file your return with:

* Proprietorship income under business income (claim 44AD presumptive income on ₹55 lakh)
* Salary income from Pvt Ltd separately under salary head
* Interest income under other sources
* Trading income/loss separately (not under 44AD)

---

### 6. **Claiming refund of earlier years**

* You mentioned refund of more than ₹5 lakh due from earlier years. You can claim it in the relevant return where applicable.
* Ensure you file return within due dates to avoid losing the refund.

---

### Summary:

| Income Type | Tax Treatment | 44AD Applicability |
| --------------------------------- | --------------------------------------------------------- | ------------------ |
| Proprietorship software business | Business income, eligible for 44AD if turnover ≤ ₹1 crore | Yes |
| Salary from Pvt Ltd | Salary income | No |
| Futures/Options/Commodity trading | Speculative/business income | No |
| Bank interest | Income from other sources | No |

---

### Final advice:

* You are **eligible to opt for 44AD for your proprietorship business turnover of ₹55 lakh**.
* File your ITR accordingly, declaring all heads separately.
* You cannot club salary income or interest income with 44AD income.
* Maintain proper records, as you may be asked for proofs if questioned.
* For futures/options trading, declare actual income/loss as per accounts.

---

If you want, I can help draft how to fill the ITR or prepare your presumptive income computation. Let me know!