How to cancel gst registration

27 October 2017 I am a senior citizen and ex -banker. My firm is in financial consultancy with annual billing of around Rs. 10 lacs. The firm was registered under service tax. In the month of March 2017 service tax deptt sent us mail to migrate to GST. At the time we were not aware that exemption limit under GST would be Rs. 20 lacs and hence we filled the migration details and submitted. In July they sent us Certificate of Provisional Registration (CPR). We wrote to service tax deptt requesting cancellation of CPR as we are exempt from GST. But they asked us to take up with helpdesk@.gst.gov.in. However our mail to them remained un-replied. In Sept they sent us GSTIN. We again wrote to GST helpdesk to cancell our registration . Since there is no response from the helpdesk would you please guide me how to get out of this situation. I have not filled any return. Is there any form for online cancellation of GST registration.

27 October 2017 There are two different forms which can be filed (depends on circumstances) while applying for cancellation of registration.

- GST REG-16 : If any tax invoice is issued under GST after 01st July then this form is required to be filed online.

- GST REG-29 : If no tax invoice is issued under GST after 01st July then this form is required to be filed.

27 October 2017 Hi Gurunath, Option to cancel GST registration for migrated tax payers is available on GST Portal. pls let me know if you have need any assistance

27 October 2017 Yes... I agreed to Mr CA Shubhanshu Jain.,

What will happen after cancellation?

*All dues and tax liabilities prior to cancellation will still have to be paid.
Such dues will not get waived off on cancellation.

On cancellation, the taxable person will have to pay tax either by-

*Reversing the input tax credit in raw materials in stock and inputs in semi-finished/finished goods held in stock on the day immediately preceding the date of cancellation

OR

Paying the output tax payable on such goods, -whichever is higher

For capital goods, the taxable person shall pay-

The input tax credit taken on the said capital goods reduced by a certain percentage (will be notified later)

OR

The tax on the transaction value of such capital goods
– whichever is higher.

28 October 2017 Thank you very much Sarvashri Shubanshu Jain, B. Vinay Reddy and Raja P M. for quick response to my querry. I logged into GST portal but could not succeed in accessing form GST REG-16. I logged in the portal and could see following six fields . (1) Dashboard (2) Services (3) GST law (4) Search Taxpayer (5) Help (6) My firm's name with downward asterick. I browsed through all the six fields but could locate the form. Would somebody kindly guide me field to be navigated so that I can file the form. Thank you so much and sorry for trouble.

28 October 2017 Hi Gurunath, After Login to portal on right side above quick link s Below your Firm name and GST number you will be able to find " Cancellation of Provisional Registration"

28 October 2017 Thank you B Vinay Reddy Sir, I tried that option namely " Cancellation of Provisional Registration" . But pop up came asking me to file GST REG-16 form. ( Probably CPR has been already cancelled by the system on issue of GSTIN to my firm) and that option is for those whose registration has not been done yet. Will you please guide me to access GST REG-16. Regards

28 October 2017 You are migrated dealer...?
If yes go to view the option of "Cancellation of Provisional Registration" under / down Profile section.
Go to click and submit the Reason then it ll be go to next process...

GOOD LUCK