Home Loan tax benefits

17 February 2020 I own a house jointly with my husband for which we have taken a joint home loan. This is a self occupied property and we are individually claiming tax benefits on it. I own another property solely, for which I have availed Bank finance. The second house is not let out and my parents stay there. Can I claim tax exemption of upto Rs. 2.00 lakh from both the loans?

19 February 2020 Yes, you can. From financial year 2019-20, the benefit of considering houses as self-occupied has been extended to two houses. The interest claim cannot exceed Rs 2 lakh in aggregate in a financial year for both self-occupied properties.

29 February 2020 No.You can't claim 2lac each for both loans. In total maximum 2lacs

25 May 2020 If the loan is taken jointly, then each of the loan holders can claim a deduction for home loan interest up to Rs 2 lakh each and principal repayment u/s 80C up to Rs 1.5 lakh each in their individual tax returns. To claim this deduction, they should also be co-owners of the property taken on loan. So, loan taken jointly with your family can help you claim a larger tax benefit.