03 September 2015
Hai sir, i am doing my articleship in Hyderabad.i am staying in my uncles home. Now they are shifting to another city. I want to do my articleship in my native place where my parents are staying. How can i apply to the institute.In ICAI regulations for termination of articleshp transfer means there is a rule that transfer of working parents to another city. In my case how can apply for the Termination. please give me the reply as early as possible. Thsnking you,
Querist :
Querist :
(Querist)
05 September 2015
Please Reply Sir .. Kindly reply please
20 July 2025
Hey! For transferring your articleship to your native place when your uncle (with whom you’re staying) is shifting, here’s what you need to know and do:
ICAI Rules on Transfer of Articleship: Transfer is generally allowed if the working parent is transferred or relocated to another city. “Working parent” means your father or mother or a guardian who is legally responsible for you. Transfer requests based on shifting of relatives (like uncle) where you are staying do not automatically qualify under this rule. What you can do: Check if your parents are staying at your native place and if the transfer is due to their relocation. If your parents are staying there and you want to join an office there, you can apply for transfer citing your parents’ relocation or your preference to be closer to them. If your parents are NOT relocating, and only your uncle is shifting, the ICAI may not approve transfer on this ground automatically. Application Process: You need to submit a transfer application to ICAI through your current principal. Include a No Objection Certificate (NOC) from your current principal. Provide a clear explanation of your reasons (e.g., want to be closer to your parents). Attach any relevant proof like parents’ address proof. Termination Option: Termination means ending your current articleship contract. You can apply for termination with valid reasons, but this may require serving notice periods and can affect your continuity unless you join another firm immediately. Summary: Transfer due to uncle’s shifting may not qualify under working parent rule. But if your parents reside at your native place, you may request transfer citing this. Apply through your principal, get their NOC, submit to ICAI. Alternatively, termination of articleship is possible but should be carefully planned.