In 2026, there is no fixed cap on the amount of cash you can deposit into a savings account in India. You are free to deposit any sum; however, once your total cash deposits across all savings and non-current accounts exceed ₹10 lakh in a single financial year, the bank is required to report this to the Income Tax Department under the Statement of Financial Transactions (SFT) rules.

What the ₹10 lakh rule actually means?
- It is a reporting threshold, not a deposit cap. If your total cash deposits across all savings accounts reach ₹10 lakh or more in a financial year (April 1–March 31), the bank must report this to the Income Tax Department.
- The rule applies to aggregate deposits, not individual transactions. The limit considers the sum of all cash deposits made throughout the year - whether in a single lump sum or through multiple small deposits.
- Your PAN determines the threshold. With PAN linked to your account, the reporting limit is ₹10 lakh.
Also Read -
Other important cash-deposit rules in 2026
- PAN for single deposits of ₹50,000 above – You must provide your PAN (or Form 60 if you don't have one) for any single cash deposit of ₹50,000 or more.
- Bank-imposed operational limits – Banks can set their own daily or branch-level caps based on internal risk, cash handling capacity, and KYC/AML norms; these are not tax rules. Also, unusually large or frequent deposits may invite questions about the source, even if the ₹10 lakh reporting threshold isn't crossed.
- Higher SFT threshold for current accounts – For current accounts, the reporting trigger under SFT is ₹50 lakh in aggregate cash deposits or withdrawals during a financial year.
- TDS on withdrawals (Section 194N) – Though unrelated to deposits, this rule is often confused with deposit limits. TDS applies when annual cash withdrawals exceed ₹1 crore generally, but for certain non-filers of ITR, the threshold drops to ₹20 lakh.
Explore in Details - TDS Rules on Cash Withdrawals 2026
What this means for you as a saver?
- Depositing over ₹10 lakh in cash is perfectly legal, as long as the funds come from a legitimate, explainable source like salary, asset sale, gift, inheritance, or already taxed business income.
- If your deposits exceed ₹10 lakh, the bank will flag this to the tax department via SFT reporting.
- You may receive a notice asking for source documentation. If your explanation matches your ITR records and the source is genuine, penalties are typically not imposed.
Checklist before depositing large cash amounts
- Confirm that your PAN is updated and linked to your account.
- Maintain proper source documentation: salary slips, sale/gift/loan deeds, business records, etc.
- Stay ready to address any AIS or SFT-triggered queries from the tax department.
- Do not break up your deposits into smaller chunks solely to avoid crossing ₹10 lakh if your aggregate deposits legitimately exceed that amount.
Overview of Transaction Thresholds
| Threshold / Trigger | Rule / Section | Impact / Action Required |
| Single Cash Deposit ≥ ₹50,000 | Rule 114B | Quoting PAN or submitting Form 60 is mandatory at the branch. |
| Annual Cash Deposits ≥ ₹10 Lakh | SFT (Rule 114E) | Bank automatically reports the aggregate deposit to the Income Tax Department. |
| Cash Receipt ≥ ₹2 Lakh | Section 269ST | Prohibited in cash; attracts 100% penalty on the amount received. |
| Cash Withdrawal ≥ ₹20 Lakh / ₹1 Crore | Section 194N | 2% to 5% TDS applicable on excess withdrawals depending on ITR filing history. |
FAQs
1. Is there a legal maximum limit for cash deposits in a savings account?
No. There is no upper cap on how much cash you can deposit in a savings account. However, if your total cash deposits in a financial year reach ₹10 lakh or more, the bank must report this to the Income Tax Department under Rule 114E.
2. Does the ₹10 lakh limit apply per account or per person?
It applies per person (per PAN), across all savings accounts you hold with the same bank (and effectively across banks via PAN-linked reporting). The bank aggregates cash deposits in all your non-current accounts to check if the ₹10 lakh threshold is crossed.
3. What happens if I deposit more than ₹10 lakh in a year?
Nothing is automatically “illegal.” The bank simply reports the transaction to the tax department through the Statement of Financial Transactions (SFT). You may later receive an AIS-linked notice asking for the source of funds. If the money is genuine and matches your income/records, there is usually no penalty.
4. Do I need to quote PAN for every cash deposit?
No. PAN is mandatory only when:
- A single-day cash deposit is ₹50,000 or more, or
- Your aggregate cash deposits in the year cross the reporting thresholds (₹10 lakh for savings, ₹50 lakh for current accounts).
If you don’t have a PAN, you must submit Form 60 (or the renumbered equivalent under the 2026 rules) instead.
5. Can I avoid reporting by splitting deposits into amounts below ₹50,000?
Splitting large cash into many small deposits to stay under reporting thresholds is known as structuring or smurfing. Banks monitor patterns and may still report suspicious activity under anti-money-laundering (AML) norms. It can also raise red flags during tax scrutiny.
6. What if the cash deposit is from a gift or inheritance?
Gifts and inheritances are allowed, but you should maintain proper documentation, such as:
- Gift deed (especially for large amounts or immovable property),
- Will/probate documents for inheritance,
- Bank statements showing the flow of funds.
If questioned, these documents help establish that the deposit is not “unexplained income.”
7. What are the tax consequences of “unexplained” cash deposits?
If the tax department treats a deposit as unexplained income under Sections 68/69/69A, it can be taxed at up to around 83% (60% tax + surcharge + cess) plus possible penalties under Section 271AAC. This is why maintaining source proof is critical for large deposits.
8. Do joint accounts change the ₹10 lakh limit?
Yes. For a joint savings account, the ₹10 lakh threshold is generally applied per account holder based on their share or as reported by the bank. Each co-holder’s PAN may be considered for reporting purposes.