anil kumar
27 November 2007 at 11:03

Service tax applicability in case of rent

I wanted to know the date on which service tax is appicable in case of rent, and the company has registered to service tax on 14.02.07 but they have not remitted any service tax till july but from july the remmittances are done, whether there is any penalty towards this and the date remittance to be started from 14.02.07 or there is any time lag for the payment? and if there is any excess amount paid whether can we claim refund for the same?

CA. Satish Singla
27 November 2007 at 10:35

Long term Capital Gain

Hello Sir

My Grandfather purchased a commercial Land at Rs.28000 in 1979 & after his death this shop is transfered to my father(Age 60 Years) and his brother(Age 70 Years).Now they wanted to sell this shop at Rs. 12.50 Lacs.My father & his brother also incurred some improvement costs on this Plot & build a shop in 1982 by spending 50000 Rs. on that.but they donot have any Documentary proof in support of that.
Now querries are as follows.
1. is it necssary to give any proof for cost of improvement.
2.Can both of them take advantage of slab exemption on their portion of LTCG(assuming they donot have any other total Income)
3.can they take cash in consideration of this shop.
4. Is their any other exemption available in this case.

BRIJ KUMAR GUPTA
27 November 2007 at 10:28

NO. OF ARTICLES

PLEASE RESOLVE MY DOUBT

I AM DOING ARTICLESHIP
MY CA HAS BEEN PRACTICING FOR 4 YEARS
I M PE2 PASSED AND OTHERS TWO CPT

WHETHER MY CA IS ELIGIBLE TO TRAIN 3 ARTICLES OR NOT PLEASE CONFIRM ME

PL TELL ME IN DETAIL

THANKS

Vivek Gangwal
27 November 2007 at 08:36

FBT Liability

Whether Pre–Operative Expenses incurred for the Projects yet to be capitalized liable for Fringe Benefits Tax since POP Expenses claim as Revenue in IT & in Corporate Books it is added to the Cost of Assets which is amortized along with the cost of Assets over the period of its life on which we are not paying FBT at present.

cool12341
27 November 2007 at 06:51

Setting up of liaison office

What is the procedure for setting up liaision office of a non-resident INDIVIDUAL? Specifically:

a)Being individual, the person does not have audited balance sheet or memorandum of association?

b) What is the format of letter of authorised signatory? Where and for how much should it be stamped?

c) It there any letter to be given by the individual to RBI? If so, format of the letter.

Reg

c)

Ankita
26 November 2007 at 23:03

article ship

I have cleared CPT. now advice me how to find out CA firm in Baroda for article ship

s.lohani

Cud sb give me detailed info abt Industrial Training under articleship? Whether it is compulsory,whether it is counted as articleship, what are its criteria, objectives, is it more popular(do more students after 24 months of articleship tend to join industrial training rather than continuing the same articleship)etc?

s.lohani

Which is more advantageous (with long term view): Articled Assistant or audit assistant and Why? What is the difference between the two?

Puneeit
26 November 2007 at 16:47

Name of properitor / partner

In case of dealers whom VAT no. is alloted how can I ascertain the name of the properietor/ partner of the firm.

Himanshu
26 November 2007 at 16:10

PROFESSIONAL QUALIFICATION

DEAR SIR,

I AM WORKING IN ACCOUNTS FIELD FROM PAST ABOUT 15 YEARS AND HAVING A DEGREE ONLY B.COM. NEITHER I AM VERY STUDIOUS NOR SO SHARP BUT WANTS TO GET A PROFESSIONAL DEGREE. I AM NOT IN A POSITION TO LEAVE THE JOB FOR STUDIES.

FOR WHICH COURSE I SHOULD APPROACH KINDLY ADVICE.