PMFME Loan: A Boon for Micro Food Processing Enterprises

CA. Bhavik P. Chudasama , Last updated: 21 February 2024  

MFME Loan: Empowering Micro Food Processing in India

The PM Formalization of Micro Food Processing Enterprises (PMFME) Scheme is a government initiative in India aimed at boosting the micro food processing sector. Designed to support individuals, groups, and small businesses, the scheme offers access to loans and credit-linked subsidies to establish or upgrade food processing units. Let's Understand with the Help of a General Conversation with Two Friends Aahil & Vivaan

Vivaan: Hey Aahil, I'm thinking of starting a small food processing unit, and I came across the PMFME Loan scheme. Have you heard about it?

Aahil: Absolutely! It's a great initiative for aspiring entrepreneurs like us. So, what kind of unit are you thinking of setting up?

PMFME Loan: A Boon for Micro Food Processing Enterprises

Vivaan: I'm passionate about making pickles and chutneys with my grandmother's recipes. I think there's a good market for authentic, high-quality products like mine.

Aahil: Sounds delicious! The PMFME Loan can definitely help you get started. Let's break down the details:

Loan Amount:

• Individuals and proprietors can get up to Rs. 10 lakhs.
  • Partnerships, FPOs, NGOs, Cooperatives, SHGs, and Pvt. Ltd. companies can get up to Rs. 2 crores.

Loan Tenure:

• The maximum repayment period is 10 years, including a moratorium of 6-24 months.

Interest Rate:

• The interest rate depends on the bank, but it's generally based on the External Benchmark Lending Rate (EBLR) plus a mark-up.
  • For example, SBI offers loans under this scheme starting from 8.40% p.a. (as of February 2024).

Subsidy:

• Here's the exciting part! You get a credit-linked capital subsidy of 35% of the eligible project cost, with a maximum of Rs. 10 lakhs.
  • This means the government essentially reduces your loan amount by a significant chunk!

Vivaan: Wow, that subsidy is a huge help! So, what are the eligibility criteria?

Aahil: It's open to individuals, proprietors, partnerships, FPOs, NGOs, Cooperatives, SHGs, and Pvt. Ltd. companies involved in micro food processing activities.

• You need to have a viable business plan and meet the bank's specific eligibility criteria.

Vivaan: Okay, that sounds doable. What about the application process?

Aahil: You can apply directly to any participating bank. They have dedicated PMFME Loan counters to assist you.

• You'll need to submit documents like your business plan, identity proof, address proof, and other required documents.

Vivaan: This seems like a fantastic opportunity. Thanks for explaining everything, Aahil! I'm definitely going to explore this further.

Aahil: No problem, Vivaan! Remember, besides the loan, the scheme also offers support in marketing, branding, and training.

• It's a comprehensive package to help your food processing dream take off!

Vivaan: That's amazing! I'm feeling motivated and confident now. Cheers to new beginnings!

Aahil: Cheers to that! Good luck with your pickle business, Vivaan. I can't wait to taste your delicious creations!

Additional Points:

• This conversation is just a starting point. Remember to research specific details and terms with your chosen bank.
  • The PMFME scheme website (https://pmfme.mofpi.gov.in/) offers comprehensive information and resources.
  • Don't hesitate to seek professional guidance if needed.

I hope this detailed conversation helps you understand the PMFME Loan scheme better!

Published by

CA. Bhavik P. Chudasama
(Practice)
Category Corporate Law   Report

Comments

Related Articles