Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

While migrating to a GST registration or while going for a new registration, most businesses would have received the 15 digit provisional ID or GSTIN (Goods and Services Tax Identification Number). Knowing the structure of the GSTIN is crucial for a business - to ensure that one’s suppliers have quoted the correct GSTIN in their invoices, and also to ensure that one mentions their own GSTIN correctly in invoices to customers – as input tax credit is dependent on this due diligence.

The 15 digit ID comprises of – 2 digits signifying the state code; 10 digit PAN number; 1 digit signifying number of registrations; and 2 digits having default and checksum values.

GST State Code List of India

Thus, it is important for businesses to know about the GST state code list, which form the first 2 digits of the GSTIN. This state code list under GST, is prescribed as per the Indian Censes of 2011, and is as follows:

State code list under GST State State code list under GST State
01 Jammu & Kashmir 19 West Bengal
02 Himachal Pradesh 20 Jharkhand
03 Punjab 21 Orissa
04 Chandigarh 22 Chhattisgarh
05 Uttarakhand 23 Madhya Pradesh
06 Haryana 24 Gujarat
07 Delhi 25 Daman & Diu
08 Rajasthan 26 Dadra & Nagar Haveli
09 Uttar Pradesh 27 Maharashtra
10 Bihar 28 Andhra Pradesh
11 Sikkim 29 Karnataka
12 Arunachal Pradesh 30 Goa
13 Nagaland 31 Lakshadweep
14 Manipur 32 Kerala
15 Mizoram 33 Tamil Nadu
16 Tripura 34 Puducherry
17 Meghalaya 35 Andaman & Nicobar Islands
18 Assam 36 Telengana
    37 Andhra Pradesh(New)


Published by

Avinash Jeevan Dsouza
(Assistant In Charge Accountant)
Category GST   Report

6 Likes   4 Shares   13494 Views


Related Articles


Popular Articles

GT ACCA caclubindia books caclubindia books Book

CCI Articles

submit article

Stay updated with latest Articles!