B.com better than ca

ALOK KUMAR JHA (STAFF) (74 Points)
Replied 23 January 2013

HELLO SAPNA MADAM.

ONE THING YOU WILL HAVE TO UNDERSTAND  THAT EXCEPTION DOES NOT MAKE RULES. IF IN ONE OR TWO CASE C.A IS GETTING LESS SALARY THAN B.COM THEN IT DOES NOT MEAN THAT ALL C.A OR MAJORITY OF C.A'S ARE GETTING LESS THAN THE B.COM.

YOU FIND UNUSUAL IT THAT CASE THATS WHY YOU RAISE THE TOPIC........RIGHT? SO YOU BETTER JUDGE WHCH IS BETTER AND WHAT IS GOOD FOR YOU.EVEN I KNOW A PANWALA EARING MORE THAN 100000 IN A MONTH, SO WHAT....LOT OF MADHAYAMIC FAIL STUDENT EARNING A LOT SO WHAT.

IT DOES NOT MEAN THAT WE SHOULD ALSO FAIL IN MADHAYAMIC.

Back in the Game (a) (1273 Points)
Replied 23 January 2013

@ Sapna 

CA is obviously supreior ro Bcom no doubt.This is a Generic Statement.

Ill ask u question.

If u go to person for a advisory,who saves for u a 1 lakh of Rs..will be reluctant to pay him 40k.

Is the CA guy creating any money by passing jounal entries.

The JP morgan guy is creating money for the organization..So he s getting paid more...

The CA Guy is doing mere compliance work...which doen not at all generate any money to the company..here it depends if the company is public listed one and has enough respect for accountancy ,cos they would be required to report to share holders...

then latter fellow will have growth else no...

its Sad to Say ,that CA Curiculum at SME level ,is not required to provide any value added Services...

Because thats how SME level works..They don ve proper acccounts,they maintain accounts for paying taxes..

Thus Coming to a Value of CA...There is no decision making work...in context of SME segment...

Because the Information systems is not all rite...

This All depends on context of ability of CA etc

Originally posted by : Mohd Atir Siddique

Please tell us more about their other classmates of 2007 bcom,who are earning that much. And if you are choosing to speak about only the cream,2 years back Olam International had offered 70 lacs to three candidates for international placement and one of my frnds got placed in ICICI bank at  6.50 lacs. Today he is in HDFC at 9. You can guess his package after same 5 years.

As for Bcom being better than CA,then its totally upto you. Upon your own intelligence. After reading your comments I think you are here to assert that Bcom is better than CA,then let it be. However anybody can know the difference between a CA and bcom.

Generally any B.Com joining good company will earn more than CA of his age since CA do 3 years articleship that Industry is reluctant to accept and not all CA's are absorbed ab Industry. My point is if Both are of same age say 26 years and B.Com earns 8 lacs and CA earn 3 lacs ?

vignesh (steps towards my goals) (381 Points)
Replied 23 January 2013

CA can go to  AGM,GM,Finance director,cfo,ceo, and etc after experience say 10 or more years.

but B.COM has restricted upto officer, AM, M and etc.

CA Bhargav Nathwani (CA in Practice) (8307 Points)
Replied 23 January 2013

No doubt CA has Its own value ..we cant compair with any other course.. But now in highly competative market.. Only degree doen't work... Person has to qualities and personality..Now-a-days two type of CA in the market ..One who trained Chartered, second is real who has It's own qualities to be CA.. Now coaching classes provides good technicis so one can learn very easily.. in past time there was no coaching classes so people having intelligence and real qualities and abilities to be CA..!

So never compair with money and postion..!

ANIL (Forensic services) (242 Points)
Replied 24 January 2013

Unlike CA,CFA is valid across the globe.Iam talking about CFA,USA not the degree given by an Indian University....CFA USA is tougher than CA..I would rate CFA USA above CA...Take the case of middle east,u would get to see professionals holding US or UK Degree holding top positions..Regarding the salary difference,well...Less salary for CA in the initial period doesnt mean he will never earn more than bcom graduate..it is just a matter of time.....At the end of the day,qualification matters a lot....

PRADEEP S (Finance Manager(B.Com. M.Com. M.Phil. LLB. MA. MBA. MFT. MCS. CA Inter CMA Inter))   (216 Points)
Replied 24 January 2013

Dear Sapna,

Just dont compare a strange examples and derive non practical conclusion!

In MNC's/big corporates only a qualified can go to higher ladder while ordinary B.Com cannot however smart is he. There will be a saturation point for ordinary B.Com but a CA starting from an Article Clerk can go upto CFO of a multi crore company and beyond that as well subject to abilitiy of the candidate.

So, CA is CA.

Cheers!

Originally posted by : ANIL

Unlike CA,CFA is valid across the globe.Iam talking about CFA,USA not the degree given by an Indian University....CFA USA is tougher than CA..I would rate CFA USA above CA...Take the case of middle east,u would get to see professionals holding US or UK Degree holding top positions..Regarding the salary difference,well...Less salary for CA in the initial period doesnt mean he will never earn more than bcom graduate..it is just a matter of time.....At the end of the day,qualification matters a lot....

Yes CFA is Internationally recognised. My question is that CA has 3 years articleship and many students do its either dummy or from small size firm hence they are not learning anything but wasting 3 years since most student want to clear CA in first attempt.......... So 3 years articleship instead of being our strength has became our weakness since industry don't value articleship and ICAI says articleship is very important........ Is 3 year of articleship not too too high?????????/

mahendra jangid (Dy. General Manager (Finance))   (444 Points)
Replied 24 January 2013

Eventhough initially the salary levels are equal, but after 3 years, once the CA changes his job (or proves himself to be more knowledgeable in his fields, he will overtake... and what will be the situation after the retirement....B. Com. may have to sit at home whereas a CA can practice till his last breath...Life time income..there is no substitute to a CA...

Originally posted by : PRADEEP S

Dear Sapna,

Just dont compare a strange examples and derive non practical conclusion!

In MNC's/big corporates only a qualified can go to higher ladder while ordinary B.Com cannot however smart is he. There will be a saturation point for ordinary B.Com but a CA starting from an Article Clerk can go upto CFO of a multi crore company and beyond that as well subject to abilitiy of the candidate.

So, CA is CA.

Cheers!

I am not comparing strange examples since B.com of same age have minimum 3 years extra experience compared to CA(if he cleares in 1st attempt) and now a days many new Degree like BAF, BBI etc are also in demand........... also the demand of B.Com is not decreasing even if every year the B.Com that joins job are more than total CA strength but if the CA Final results increases from 5% to say 25% than the demand of CA in Industry reduces significantly and the CA has no option but to join any CA firms that hire them at much less value than they deserve........ Hence CA's have became under employed and if you don't get good start or chance to go in industry than forget to be CFO or CEO you won't even be able to become FM?

Originally posted by : Bhargav Nathwani

No doubt CA has Its own value ..we cant compair with any other course.. But now in highly competative market.. Only degree doen't work... Person has to qualities and personality..Now-a-days two type of CA in the market ..One who trained Chartered, second is real who has It's own qualities to be CA.. Now coaching classes provides good technicis so one can learn very easily.. in past time there was no coaching classes so people having intelligence and real qualities and abilities to be CA..!

So never compair with money and postion..!

I don't think because of classes undeserving people are becoming CA but because of the deviation in the ICAI results since sometimes result of CA Final is 5% and sometimes its 25%....... hence in 5% result even deserving person fails and in 25% result even undeserving person passes..............

mukeshm (Finance ,MIS) (223 Points)
Replied 24 January 2013

U r putting very good debate Sapana.......Both fileds CA Vs CFA .has no comparasion ..both of these degrees have there own market value..

GO FOR CFA..if u hv any confusion in ur mind abt CA course

CA phanikumar chebolu (B.com CMA (CS professional))   (556 Points)
Replied 24 January 2013

Very Interesting topic and nice views shared by every one...

even the question raised by Sapna in starting also is Completely valid and cant be ignored altogether..

Please go on... 

Originally posted by : mukeshm

U r putting very good debate Sapana.......Both fileds CA Vs CFA .has no comparasion ..both of these degrees have there own market value..

GO FOR CFA..if u hv any confusion in ur mind abt CA course

No I am not comparing CA vs CFA.... I compared B.Com vs CA..... and whether 3 years of articleship is too high since most people do dummy or join small size firm which is not useful to them and not recognised in Industry. Also the deviation in CA Final results is too high from 5% to 25% or more without any valid reason for such a deviation almost 5 times??????

Back in the Game (a) (1273 Points)
Replied 24 January 2013

Sapna.

ill sum it up this ways,u need one professional Qualification to enter the corporate world.

After that it really doesnt matter...

your abilities will matter after that not any qualification.

So if one is unable and has a CA qualification ,he can never prosper in life.