banner_ad

U/S 143(1).

Others 160 views 2 replies
ALL ABOUT U/S 143(2/1).
Replies (2)

What exactly is Intimation u/s 143(1)?

Basically, when a return is submitted to Income Tax Department, the department applies the following computerized checks as a part of its review procedure:

• Arithmetical errors in the return.
  • An incorrect claim, which is apparent from any information in the return. For example, if the deduction u/s 80C is claimed more than the maximum permissible deduction u/s section 80C i.e. Rs 1,50,000, the excess shall be disallowed and it will be reflected in your intimation u/s 143(1).
  • Difference in income, TAN, BSR Code, Challan No. etc. appearing in Form 26AS or Form 16A or Form 16 with the Income Tax Return.
  • Comparison of Advance Tax, Self-assessment tax and TDS etc. from 26AS.
  • Claiming the losses for carry forward to next year when return is submitted after the due date.
  • Whether deduction under section 10AA, 80-IA, 80-IAB, 80-IB, 80-IC, 80-ID or section 80-IA has been taken after the due date of Income Tax Return
  • Calculation of Tax and Interest etc.

After these checks, have been applied, then Income Department Issues Intimation u/s 143(1) in the cases where there's:

• Increase/decrease in Tax/Interest Payable, or
  • Increase/decrease in Refund, or
  • Adjustment that makes a change in the loss claimed

However, practically you can still receive it, even if your case does not fall in the above mentioned three criteria.

So, to sum up, Intimation u/s 143(1) is a computer-generated notice which contains the final amount of tax payable or refund to be granted, along with interest is issued to you.

The intimation u/s 143(1) shows side by side comparison of:

• (a) Tax Calculation as provided by the you in the Return of Income.
  • (b) Tax as Computed under section 143(1) {i.e. As per Department}
sir sab kuch ohk h all amounts fir bhi aaya hua hai 143(1) toh kya krna hai ab pls tell me

ARTICLESHIP 31 May 2026
Article Assistant

KPRS And Associates

26 May 2026
Senior Accountant cum purchase Manager

Vardhaman Group of India

Pimpri Chinchwad

26 May 2026
Audit executive

vdsr & co LLP

Chennai

26 May 2026
CA / MBA (Finance) / CMA / M.Com (Finance)

Sri Aurobindo Gnostic Centre of Education

ARTICLESHIP 27 May 2026
CA Article Trainee

Rahul Dang & Associates-Chartered Accountants

Pune