Doubt regarding itr rectification

ITR Filing 819 views 23 replies

I got income tax notice u/s 143 where they have excluded the deduction of Rs.10000 u/s 80TTA even though i have mentioned savings bank interest under income from other source and then claimed deduction.

On rectification u/s 154 there are 3 options 
1. taxpayer is correcting data for Tax Credit Mismatch only.
2.The taxpayer is correcting data for rectification
3.No further Data Correction required. Reprocess the case

While i understand point1 is not applicable for me , im confused with point2&3.

If i choose point2 , and select reason4 : details of deductions under schedule VIa wrongly considered, 
It asks to upload X M L.

Im confused as should i upload the same X M L of my itr submission because i dont need to change anything ?

Or should i choose point3: No further Data Correction required. Reprocess the case and then choose  "Tax/Interest computation" as the option ?

Kindly let know

Thanks in Advance :)

Replies (23)

Select reason 2 & upload the new X M L file. (earlier utilities had no separate sav account interest details, hence the issue)

Originally posted by : Dhirajlal Rambhia
Select reason 2 & upload the new X M L file. (earlier utilities had no separate sav account interest details, hence the issue)

Hi, Thanks for your reply

I got this notice for AY 2017-18 and i filled in ITR-2.

I downloaded the latest JAVA utility available for  ITR-2 AY 2017-18  (Last updated on 15 Feb 2018) and Schedule OS looks like the following :-

1 a)  Dividends

b) Interest

c)  Rental Income

d) Others

I had entered SB(exceeding interest) + FD interest total in column 1b) Interest

for example if my total sb interest is 15000 and FD interest is 2000,

i entered the following :-

Schedule V1A    - 80TTA  :    15000        10000 (auto computed as deduction)

Schedule OS   -    1b) :  7000   (5000+2000)

I dont know what is the change in XML i need to do  because the one i filed is the same as the one i have generated again now ? 

Please kindly guide me

Mistake is in schedule OS ..........   fill as follows......

Schedule OS   -    1b) :  17000 ....................   (15000+2000)

In my humble opinion you have under reported the income so you have to revise the return taking correct OS and correct  80TTA.  I doubt whether you can do this in rectification. Rambhia sir will tell that.

Yes, you are correct........ but here it may be accepted as apperent mistake in recording income u/h. OS, when the claim was already made in original and the same is declared as disagreement  to notice u/s. 143(1a) 

Moreover, there is additional tax liability declared by assessee !!!

Otherwise revision is  the only option.

Hi all, Im sorry, i gave the wrong figures of sb interest declared in schedule os Here is actual breakdown of income i have declared under schedule os 1b) interest : 17000 (15000 sb+2000 fd) 1d) others : 8000 Total: 25000 I assure you these are the correct figures now

Needs to be checked the reason for disallowance.........

You may verify the details and resubmitted fresh X M L file.

In case of any doubt, better get it verified personally by any tax expert.

Thanks...how do i see the reason of disallowance ? Should i submit the fresh X M L with the same content as that was filed with ?

By the way i just discovered my case is similar to this post https://www.caclubindia.com/forum/details.asp?quote=1916364&mod_id=476703 Seems like many people are getting the same issue

Well, if that be the case, call helpline...

1) in OS  1(b)(i) - Savings bank interest  - 15000

2) 1(b)(ii) - Term deposit  - 2000

3) 1(b) (iii) - others - 8000

In sch VI-A  80TTA you should take  15000 only .

Originally posted by : Dhirajlal Rambhia
Well, if that be the case, call helpline...

The helpline numbers are useless as it always comes busy 

•  +91-80-46605200

Originally posted by : SHIRISH S S

1) in OS  1(b)(i) - Savings bank interest  - 15000

2) 1(b)(ii) - Term deposit  - 2000

3) 1(b) (iii) - others - 8000

In sch VI-A  80TTA you should take  15000 only .

Should the FD Interest be included as 1(b) (ii)  ?  I thought it is different from Term Deposit.

A term deposit is an investment held at a financial institution. Your money is invested for an agreed rate of interest over a fixed amount of time, or term. Term deposits can be invested into a bank, building society or credit union.

Originally posted by : SHIRISH S S
A term deposit is an investment held at a financial institution. Your money is invested for an agreed rate of interest over a fixed amount of time, or term. Term deposits can be invested into a bank, building society or credit union.

Ok...In my case im talking about ITR-2 of AY 2017-18

Schedule OS  has the following :-

1a) Dividends, Gross

b) Interest, Gross

c) Rental income from machinery, plants, buildings, etc., Gross

d) Others, Gross (excluding income from owning race horses)Mention the nature

e) Total (1a + 1b + 1c + 1d)

and others.....

I have mentioned 17000 in 1b)  and 8000 in 1d)3)

10 June 2026
Senior Account Executive

JDS Advisory LLP

Ahmedabad