Unemployment of CA

RcorpIndia (CMA) (128 Points)
Replied 01 September 2011

everybody please, stop analysing the ca course structure..Please allow me to state some insights..the reason why people are not getting jobs is not because there are no jobs in the market, please check the job portals, get in contact with some genuine placement organisations like spectral consultants etc. there are loads of jobs out there, BUT LET ME TELL YOU just being qualified is not the need of the hour, ofcourse that is the primary thing, but you have to inculcate some soft skills and showcase those skills in those 5 or 10 minutes that you spend with the interviewer, because it is in those 5 or 10 minutes that the decision is taken, please practise before the interview, research over the internet, take out a list of probable interview questions , the first round is almost always the HR round where you are asked some general questions, here you should make it a point to be completely confident and look confident too, the interviewer should get a feeling of reassurance , when s/he talks to u that yes, this guy is quite suitable for this role. PLUS ofcourse you should be thorough with your subject, for eg: if u r going for an audit profile, you should be absolutely clear about all the accounting standards, be ready for some situational questions too.like they might ask you : talk about a situation in your articleship period that you came across and you demonstrated leadership skills or team spirit etc..(please this is only a poor example, you can find better samples on the net ).another thing, people communication skills is of paramount importance in our field, because our job is not that of an executive, but we are selected for leadership roles eventually, so most of the time we have a team to manage, so dynamic personality, good english speaking is a must. I know fluent english cannot be learnt in a day but please start practising, start talking to yourself in english, start thinking in english, and be aware where you re making a mistake in speaking english, and correct it, there are only a few basic grammar rules, please search the net, and make a mental note, prep yourself up to pass the interview. listen to people speaking english, watch videos on youtube, read the newspaper aloud, improve your diction. its very important, its all part of your personality.

and CA institute ensures that only quality CAs pass out in the Final level, and there are no too views about that, so please people make these few changes in your personality, there are plenty of videos on youtube about interview presentation etc. please view a few and identify faults in yourself.

All my seniors have always advised me this way ..they have followed these too. i am only informing you all of what i was told.

5 Like

Kashvi (CS) (231 Points)

Originally posted by : Rashmi

everybody please, stop analysing the ca course structure..Please allow me to state some insights..the reason why people are not getting jobs is not because there are no jobs in the market, please check the job portals, get in contact with some genuine placement organisations like spectral consultants etc. there are loads of jobs out there, BUT LET ME TELL YOU just being qualified is not the need of the hour, ofcourse that is the primary thing, but you have to inculcate some soft skills and showcase those skills in those 5 or 10 minutes that you spend with the interviewer, because it is in those 5 or 10 minutes that the decision is taken, please practise before the interview, research over the internet, take out a list of probable interview questions , the first round is almost always the HR round where you are asked some general questions, here you should make it a point to be completely confident and look confident too, the interviewer should get a feeling of reassurance , when s/he talks to u that yes, this guy is quite suitable for this role. PLUS ofcourse you should be thorough with your subject, for eg: if u r going for an audit profile, you should be absolutely clear about all the accounting standards, be ready for some situational questions too.like they might ask you : talk about a situation in your articleship period that you came across and you demonstrated leadership skills or team spirit etc..(please this is only a poor example, you can find better samples on the net ).another thing, people communication skills is of paramount importance in our field, because our job is not that of an executive, but we are selected for leadership roles eventually, so most of the time we have a team to manage, so dynamic personality, good english speaking is a must. I know fluent english cannot be learnt in a day but please start practising, start talking to yourself in english, start thinking in english, and be aware where you re making a mistake in speaking english, and correct it, there are only a few basic grammar rules, please search the net, and make a mental note, prep yourself up to pass the interview. listen to people speaking english, watch videos on youtube, read the newspaper aloud, improve your diction. its very important, its all part of your personality.

and CA institute ensures that only quality CAs pass out in the Final level, and there are no too views about that, so please people make these few changes in your personality, there are plenty of videos on youtube about interview presentation etc. please view a few and identify faults in yourself.

All my seniors have always advised me this way ..they have followed these too. i am only informing you all of what i was told.

Totally true...gud analysis...most CAs lack presentability, speaking skills and that assurance that will make the employer trust in givin the job..thats y the institute actualy introduced orientations...but of course it is a deep matter of concern..n blaming the institute n the pass percentage is no good...each unemployed shud self analyse y he/she is in such a positon in the first place..

CS Deepa Bisht (COMPANY SECRETARY) (57 Points)

hey chitra the pass % means to high ratio of passing students.in short means high supply with less demand..

mukul mehra (B.com MBA-HR ADLL CS-Final LLb TCP)   (591 Points)

i totally agree with rashmi thankyou very much dear i have several times raised this issue here on caclub but some of the persons here always blame their institutes or pass percentage or say we passed the ca final exams that is enough now give us the job. the job these doesnt come like walking down the street lane you come and pick one for yourself. these days a CA gets a Competition from other CA in the market and to enhance your ability soft skills is the way to do it. a trait of good professional is always his persona and dignity etc.

Mere passing in CA exams wont assure a job because there are several other factors playing role in the real corporate world. comapnies are expecting more from CA's these days not only a mere accouting expert but also he should have the capabilities of managing a team, he should have good analytical abilities, he should have good managerial abilities. dont you all think some of my CA friends do lack in it

but that doesnt mean CA course value has gone down, if some us is not getting job only reason could be a difference of whom being better than other in the eyes of companies conducting interview because everything is decided in those 5-10 mins of an interview. so prepare for those 5-10 minutes by improving your english(yes as said above cant be learned in day by Rashmi) but start it from today only,read newspapers daily, business magazines, watch english channels more, watch some personality enhancing tips on youtube.

Make your self readily available to the company as when asked because you dont know when opportunity will strike your door.

As CA is very good and eligant course i think its followers should live upto the course expectation by improvising within yourself daily.

when you talk and walk the CA word should reflect in your personality so start inculcating good personality traits within you rest you already cleared a CA  good lck

CA-CWA RAVI (CA-CWA in industry) (5464 Points)

soft skills ?

dear rashmi i agree to u in general context 

but i am not agreed to u in ca campus context 

we have seen people having better communication and soft skills not getting short listed at all 

there are no jobs in market right now ........

u can see 551 jobs in naukri.com out of which 50% are consultants which are just there to show there presence

it is over one month now .... no reply is being made by anybody .....

it is easier to analyse the cause sitting at home but the harsh reality can be tested when u come out in market 

this time campus short listed 20% students of total 

and offered 3% jobs out of total candidates registered.......

this time result is 3 times more then what used to be .......

i am a first attempt cpt pcc clearer and 55% marks in ca final both groups at one attempt

i am a rank holder in cwa all 3 levels as well ( rank in final expected as rank list is not out )

but they did not short listed me ..... did my articleship in good firm too 

about my communication skills and soft skills ...... gmcs batch which i belonged to ... put me on top 5 of the 60 group

but leave me ... i am not talking about me .... i am talking about those whom i find worthy of getting selected due to the X factor in there personality and presentation skills

i feel sorry .... but even i had never expected such treatment from icai campus and off market jobs 

now since i am a cwa too .. i am looking forward for its campus .....

i know around 120 people who passed ca this time .......

just 3 have got jobs till now ... off market .... rest are free as i am ..... 

and i am not blaming icai or cmii 

i am wat ever and will be what ever will be due to icai and icwai only

i am just saying that ur point would be relevant when one gets an opportunity for interview

when he is not getting short listed at all ....... soft skills come later on 

Narayana Murthy Puppala (CA) (275 Points)

hey Rashmi,I intend no offence but whatever u r saying about is the individual's job securing skills.Sure they r the need of the hour but the current discussion pertains to institute's inability  or more aptly put, inconsistency in providing placement opportunities and the erratic way they are passing the students.I firmly believe that they dont manipulate the results,favoring any particular region,community etc.However the quality of the question papers and the leniancy of valuation decides it all.U can see the statistics for the past 5-8 attempts and analyse them.Whatever u suggested will surely improve one's chances to perform better,however,remember that the no. of opportunities for CAs in the market will not change just because of these skills.We rarely compete against others like MBAs/CWAs for a position.So,our competition is primarily with a fellow CA.So even if our personality/communication skills are improved,however,the demand shall be more or less the same and it is this factor that ICAI should keep in mind and try to cater to the market's requirements.There has been a huge growth rate in financial services outsourcing and other new opportunities cropping up and ICAI should understand them,modify the curriculum accordingly.We are really fed so much during the course that the market actually doesn't need that much.Specialisation is what required.Anyone who gets into the industry rarely does work in more than 2 fields.Though we have that flexibility factor of changing roles but still it is useless because we are treated as "Jack of  all trades but master of none".The current scenario is that a CA, only after getting into a particular role,is getting a deeper understanding about the subject.So,CAs should be given the opportunity to choose specialisation at the final stage itself.And regarding the job offers-U can compare the kind of offers & the % of selection in the feb-mar placement and the current placement.Even dumb candidates got selected in the previous placement(I actually witnessed it) and very good students haven't made it this time because of the demand-supply factor.We all wish that ICAI will surely take some  corrective action from now on.

strongly agreed to u Mr. Narayana 

even i am saying here in cci that ICAI has never and would never ever manipulate results 

sanket (article) (24 Points)

Even I Am frehser CA, but I completely deny about the fact that there no jobs available,job are available but Many of us are thinking that we should get salary so and so....but my collegues according to market scenario and no of student passed out at this time emplyers are on driver sit...at this juncture we can not be choosy about the profile we wanted ....yes ICAi campus programme need to be improved in all sense...no co-ordinbation was there which i have experinced in mumbai..according to CMII.org chairmen total 13k students become CA in MAY'11 as compared to nov'10 which was 4.5k.....

PUJA (STUDENT) (141 Points)

oh ravi after reading ur post i m really tensed,to kya hoga humlog ka???????????i m going to give my cpt in coming december,

Rakesh (Executive- Commercial & CMA final student)   (179 Points)

Dear Frnds,

According to me jobs r availalble but after doing so much hard work we r expecting a lot..Which is not wrong however as most of us r fresher v should look into d profile rather than just money..Money will definately follow once u ll b on rite track..So dont worry..just start wid good profile..

Cheers..

CS Bijoy (Expert) (6394 Points)

Dont worry you are jobless because no body can appoint in any position so wait for the better one which a CA deserve.

VIJAY GUPTA (CHARTERED ACCOUNTANTS) (75 Points)

Why you all think about jobs only, think beyond it. getting a CA degree means you all are having a specfic standard of knowledge. Go and think beyond CA , find out your ture nature and where you can put talent to get the maximum output and satisfaction.  watch the movie three idots once more, you might get the idea.

VIJAY GUPTA (CHARTERED ACCOUNTANTS) (75 Points)

A.Barli (Article) (216 Points)

Very unfortunate:-(

Apparently its from what i hear excess CA's from MAY exam