80c

1014 views 8 replies

HI All,

As my income tax investment declaration i declare 1,00,000 in section 80c(mutual fund,ppf etc.), now i didn't invested a single rupees. So my question is if  how much amount will be deducted for this if i don't submit investment proof for this much amount.

Thanks & Regards,

Vivek

Replies (8)

dear sir, 

please specify your problem clearly..

Vivek ji,

Is it like you have claimed Rs.1 Lac in your ITR u/s 80C but didnt invested???

If yes then it will be in your interest to disclose the fact and revise the return and offering the same for Tax with interest.

While filing the ITR no investments proof is to be submitted, but if scrutiny arises the they can demand for proof. 

I advice you to invest another 2000 rs under section 80 CCF...and section 80G to save tax

I advice you to invest another 20000 Rs. under section 80 CCF...and section 80G to save tax

I agreed with CA Maulik Sir, to furture investment in Infrastructure bond of Rs.20000/- ,that will help you to claim the deduction of Rs.120000/-.(under 80 c Rs.100000/- plus Rs.2000/- under ccf). also the deduction can be claimed only on paid basis.

Thanks & Regard

It seems you declared 1L as proposed investment in 80C to your employer for calculation of TDs on salaries. You have not invested much or may be not a penny.

If you do not invest any before March 31, 2012 your tax liability will increase by 10/20/30 percentage (in which bracket you are) on 1L. or 1L less the amount invested.

Never mind, the accounts persons in your entity will soon run after you for proofs so that they comply with laws relating to TDS on salaries.

If you have given an Investment Declaration to your employer stating that you agree to invest Rs. 100,000/- during Financial Year 2011-2012 then deduction will be allowed to you if you have made any such investment during FY 2011-2012. At the time of re-calculating TDS in the month of Feb or Mar you are required to submit a copy of receipt of Investments made. If receipt is not submitted then deduction won't be allowed.

Agreed with Dipjyoti and Kiran ji.

22 June 2026
Finance Manager- Chartered Accountant

Triveni Turbine Limited

Bengaluru