[official] cfa thread for ca/cs students

Page no : 15

sandeep kumar khatua (re) (22 Points)
Replied 14 February 2014

hey espionage, pucca idiot,or anyone who can help me,,

had a query regarding quants section of CFA L1. there are a lot of formulas to deal with.

1--how do i deal with dem,do i need to understand n work out the derivation part of the formula as well??some basic formulas derivation part is quite easy to understand bt do i need to do the derivation part with each and every formula???

2--or do i just remember the formula and work on its application part???

how did you guys deal with these during ur prep??seniors please help

regards,

Sandeep

espionage (human being...) (769 Points)
Replied 05 March 2014

@ sandeep kumar khatua. just focus on remembering the formulas along with their application. application is more important than derivation. :) all the best

*PEACE*

What a thread!!

I want to know the link about the original CFA study mat because all torrent sites that leading me to schweser notes. Any link?

CA Vivek Kumar (Practicing CA And GST Content writer for legalfilings.in)   (660 Points)
Replied 11 July 2014

Thanku so much @ espionage for this w'ful thread...

I had maney query,, but now solved after reading from starting..

Replied 26 July 2014

@ disha ..sorry i cannot provide u any links for offical material of CFAI because it is against the ethical standards and i would request you to only go for the official material and not pirated materials.

*PEACE*

Rohit Jain (MBA (FIN ) CS (Professional) )   (2860 Points)
Replied 29 July 2014

Hello espionage ! 

I just hapenned to read this entire thread and appreciate your hard work in solving all cfa related queries. Wow ! 

I have a doubt of my own. Actually they are 2-3 questions.... please answer in detail.

1) Although salary differs from industry to industry and job to job , yet there can be some base salary or some number that an interested person having adequate knowledge and expertise will definately get after doing something. So could you give exact salary figure (Since numerical figures entice a person more :P ,,,,,even a broad band of figures would do) which a person can earn by either passing L1 or L2 in this ........

2) Will cfa after mba finance from a normal university (university of pune) to be precise be a right step ?

3) I know that company secretaryship (c.s) and cfa are totally unrelated qualifications , but if i pass out on both of them (cs and cfa) with good marks , will my resume be labelled as being too much 'jack of all trades and master of none '.....Not equating myself with them , but i've found many profiles on linkedin who have good jobs and possess many unrelated qualifications ....

(all the above questions are in light of fact that i am seriously interested for a career in finance)

Thanks in advance !

Replied 31 July 2014

@ rohit 

1. There is no one in this world that can quote a base figure my friend. In fact u answered ur own ques. assuming u want to aspire to become an investment banker, it all depends upon the job u get. ive seen people getting as low as 4 lac pa & their post is associate-investment banker, ofcourse the co bis a low level ib;  & ive seen as high as 50-60 lacs pa, here im talking abt bulge bracket ib's like goldman sachs, morgan stanley, deutsche bank & the likes. 
So all depends upon the oppurtunity u get & exploit :)

2. Im sorry to say but CFA will over power ur mba from a normal uni. 

3. u should hav a very solid reason for everything u hav in ur resume. The 2014 CFA aisa pacific carrer develpoment guide features a comapny secretary and a CFA charterholder from India who is a very well known investment banker. See this

https://www.magnetmail.net/actions/subscriptttion_form_cfa_apac.cfm

Ps: CFA is more relevant for investment management rather than

investment banking. i hope u get this point. :)

*PEACE*

Replied 31 July 2014

@ rohit 

1. There is no one in this world that can quote a base figure my friend. In fact u answered ur own ques. assuming u want to aspire to become an investment banker, it all depends upon the job u get. ive seen people getting as low as 4 lac pa & their post is associate-investment banker, ofcourse the co bis a low level ib;  & ive seen as high as 50-60 lacs pa, here im talking abt bulge bracket ib's like goldman sachs, morgan stanley, deutsche bank & the likes. 
So all depends upon the oppurtunity u get & explot :)

2. Im sorry to say but CFA will over power ur mba from a normal uni. 

3. u should hav a very solid reason for everything u hav in ur resume. The 2014 CFA aisa pacific carrer develpoment guide features a comapny secretary and a CFA charterholder from India who is a very well known investment banker. See this

https://www.magnetmail.net/actions/subscripttion_form_cfa_apac.cfm

Ps: CFA is more relevant for investment management rather than investment banking. i hope u get this point. :)

*PEACE*

Ashish (student) (366 Points)
Replied 01 August 2014

hey Espionage i cleared my Level 2 .

Let me tell u about myself. My CA Final is due in May next yr (2015) and as u can see my Level 3 is also due on June 2015. what would as per u should i concentrate on ? Should I drop CA Final in may and sit in Nov 15 or should I drop CFA Level 3 and sit in June 16 or the wild option should I opt for both.

2.) How much time (least) is required to prepare for level 3

Any more suggestion....

Rajesh Singhania (Proprietor ) (39 Points)
Replied 13 August 2014

I am pursuing CA and wonder whether doing concurrent courses, i.e., CS, ICWA, CFA, CMA or CPA is valid and leagal? Because, as far as I know ICAI allows only certain courses to pursue alonwith CA as mentioned in thier prospectus. I have seen many students pursuing many other courses alonwith CA. Kindly advise on future legalities and implications. Thanks.

Read more at: /forum/legality-of-other-courses-while-doing-ca-300617.asp#.U-tQhPmSz-s

Hridaya venkatasubramanian (student) (64 Points)
Replied 27 November 2014

I am very passionate about making it big in the investment banking sector and my ca final attempt falls due on may 2015 ; Basically what Iam planning to do is clear CA, enter the investment banking industry , have enough experience say 2 years then start CFA 

Please advise

Jagannadh (student) (21 Points)
Replied 23 December 2014

Hi espionage

I have the following doubts regarding CFA Please do clarify

1)I am at ca ipcc level and giving my attempt in may 2015 , after qualifying ipcc can i join in cfa at articleship period? or 

2) is the level of knowledge will be sufficient to clear cfa by starting at ipcc level?

3) how much does the course cost?(in INR)

4)by qualifying cfa can we get jobs in overseas?

5)Should we use scientific / normal calculator during exams?

6)Is coaching compulsory to go?(as it is not possible during articleship period)

7) How much duration does the whole course takes?

sorry for my poor english and gramatical mistakes

thanks in advance

Jagannadh

Gaurav ( Service) (28 Points)
Replied 05 January 2015

Hi espionage,
I am ca dropout, dropped ca ipcc gr.1 last year did b.com from sol (du) now doing job in benefits administration auditing field since past 4 months everyone is happy but feeling like a failure in life, passionate to go for cfa L1 but bad at theoretical subjects have interest in subjects like maths, accounts, FM which i studied in ipcc etc. Can only study 1-2 hrs. daily as office is far away from home.
Questions:
1)  Should i go for it now or wait? because investing USD is a big thing for me still parents supporting!
2)  It will be a make or break game for me. So i wanted to consult someone before taking any step...
3)  If Yes kindly suggest regarding best coaching providers in delhi ncr.....
Please advice!  Waiting for ur reply.....

Gaurav

Replied 20 January 2015

@ hridya breaking into ib isnt as easy and rosy as it seems. After CA u can only get into a good ib if u hav a rank or hav solid jacks or hav a superb kismat. If u hav none then u will hav to start slow but u will surely be able to make it to the top.

@ jagannadh bro check the thread ur queries hav been answered..

@ gaurav CFA is easier than CA but there is no guarantee than u will pass the exam for sure
u will hav to study, the exam standards are very high. level 1 can be done in 1-2 hrs daily but not level 2 and 3, u will hav to devote more time. I wudnt recommend coaching, just go for schweser material and classes . 

*PEACE*

Ashwin Toshniwal (Article Assistant) (61 Points)
Replied 17 February 2015

Hi All,

I've cleared CA final in Nov 14 and am due to write CFA level2 in June 15. Does anyone have a contact no. to get Schweser notes in Bangalore?

Looking forward to a quick response.

Ashwin Toshniwal