Tax relief on home loan pre-EMI interest?

Tax queries 210 views 5 replies

Hello Folks,

I bought an under construction property last year (May 2021), for which I took a home loan. As payment plan is CLP based (construction linked plan), I have been paying pre-emi interest each month. The property is supposed to get delivered in August 2022.

Till now, I have paid approx. 1.2 lakhs as pre-emi interest in this year and by the time the construction gets complete, I would have paid approx. 4 lakhs in total to the bank. Now while filling ITR, I am confused and have following questions:

1. Am I entitled for any tax relief in fy 2021-22?

2. If not, is it the case that I can claim under section 24 only when the construction is complete? (in five financial years)

3. If above point is true: the problem is once construction is complete, I'll be paying regular emi and the interest amount would easily shoot 2 lakh limit under section 24. Does it mean I would not be able to take any tax benefit on the pre-emi interest amount?

Kindly suggest.

Replies (5)

1. No

2. Correct.

3. The balance can be carried forwarded to next 8 years.

Thank you for your reply. Could you please explain a bit? Does it mean the pre-emi amount can be claimed upto 8 years of completion instead of 5?

No. Pre-EMI interest will be distributed over five years only.

But the claimable interest over and above Rs. 2 lakhs, can be carried forward to next year/s to be claimed under the same head IFHP.

There are two schemes for home loan waiver. One is the principL Part and another is interest.PMGAY IS ONE.

ANOTHER IS DEDUCTION UNDER SEC 24 OF HOUSE PROPERTY.
ANOTHER IS SEC 80C.

Yes, you can only claim the pre-construction interest after the construction is complete in 5 installments. 

You have to claim it along with the Interest  component of the EMI