Don't sacrifice your self respect for Relationship

Inspirational 2520 views 14 replies

I would rather be alone with dignity than in a relationship that Requires me to sacrifice my self respect.

Sometimes we have to be willing to let go of the relationships that do us much more harm than good. Too many times we work so hard in life to only be discouraged and told by others that we should be grateful for even having them in our own lives. I would much rather be alone than deal with someone who makes me not want to feel loved.

What we feel isn’t based on what we actually go through, it is based on what we represent in our heads when we think about what we are going through. Our interpretation to each situation means everything. At the end of the day, if we keep receiving negative signals from the people that we are in a relationship with, we shouldn’t just avoid these feelings, we have to know that a change is needed.

Deal with the change that is needed. Don’t pretend that your relationship is working out when it isn’t, if it isn’t going great, dont sacrifice your dignity.

SOURCE : https://letyourliferock.wordpress.com/2013/04/20/dont-sacrifice-your-self-respect-for-relationship/

Replies (14)

hmmm...baat toh sahi hai ji aapki...............per......

Thanx 4 Sharing Maam............

Goood one...!!! Its very good to be alone rather being in a forced relationship..... Better to live in peace rather than spoiling others mind/mood...!!!

Originally posted by : Aanya

Goood one...!!! Its very good to be alone rather being in a forced relationship..... Better to live in peace rather than spoiling others mind/mood...!!!

TRUE SAID........ At the end of the day, if we keep receiving negative signals from the people that we are in a relationship with, we shouldn’t just avoid these feelings, we have to know that a change is needed.

I care for myself. The more solitary, the more friendless, the more unsustained I am, the more I will respect myself.” 
― Charlotte BrontëJane Eyre

hai,i like it the way it being expressed but do not feel it will be impressed.personal views by you is respected but i do not feel the same.cheers...

When we replace 'I" with "We" even illness becomes Wellness...........

True relationship does not have term like sacrifice....... but both need to compromise somethings.... 

When Ego, Self Respect (just thinking about I and not We) enters any relationship it can never be long-term...........

yes, in love I and you to bhul hi jate hai...but it should be from both sides. If someone truly loves you,, he/she will not harm your self respect. Love means accepting and respecting each other. It's my view atleast.

kaya baat

tu to cha gai smiley

par kabhi kabhi relationship mai trust bhi hona chahiye na

kaya kaha tha tune meri post par

girls hides the truth because boy sometime doesn't trust her

aur aaj yeh??

tu to relation tudwane par hi lagi h logon ke cheeky

baat relation tudwane ki nahin prashant...aisa gunah to me khwab me bhi na kru..Just telling that maintain your self respect in relationship and self respect does not mean ego. If you try to maintain relationship by sacrificing your self respect, you are mistaking. One day you will not only loose your love but also your true self. Respect towards each other is must in love.THIS DOES NOT MEAN LEAVE SOME ONE BUT MAKE IT CLEAR TO YOUR PARTNER THAT YOU RESPECT YOUR SELF AND YOU WANT SAME THING FROM HIM/ HER.I post this because i like this thoght. no any other intention.

Very well said Tarannum .... i understand this is not about ego it is about self respect. A person who doesnt respect you it clearly means he/she dont love you.

I am reading this thread and I want to put my opinion here.

As some body told 'all human relations are financial relations which means need based relations if you get into depth of that particular relations. Unless you create some need to others this kind of situations will definitely arise. Means any person who does not feel any need from you or understand there is need for you from him/her will put you in this kind of situation where you feel that your self respect is damaged. So if you decide that you do not have any need with that particular person who is damaging your self respect discard him immediately or create a need for him to take care of you if you feel that relation is important.. If you want to take the help from only the people who has real love and respect towards you I can say you do not find any body like that. (once exception is Celebrities will get respect even though there is no need)

If the need can be cleared  by that person only you have to bear it or you have to kill the need itself.

So please create a need to others if you want to be loved or avoid to be in need from others.

If there is no need for you from others and others do not have any need from you then automatically you will be made alone and the sacrifice question will not come and you do not have any chance to face that kind of situations.

Hope it is clear.

Originally posted by : Sapna Sharma

When we replace 'I" with "We" even illness becomes Wellness...........

True relationship does not have term like sacrifice....... but both need to compromise somethings.... 

When Ego, Self Respect (just thinking about I and not We) enters any relationship it can never be long-term...........

..............................100% fact ....!!! agree and ........"Like"...........!!!!

nice replies of all ...thanx friends...