Composition scheme for service provider

261 views 6 replies

One of my client is in medical services. He is running a clinic along with a medical. He is billing both services medical as well as clinic ( Surgery, etc) from a single GST No. Total Turnover of his business is as follows :

1. Trading in Medicines (Retail) is upto Rs. 70 Lakhs

2.  Turnover from OPD (General Practice) is Rs. 20 Lakhs (Exempt Service) 

3.  Turnover from Surgeries (Cosmetic & Plastic Surgery) is upto Rs.20 Lakhs (Taxable)

Thus, his total turnover for FY 2018-19 is below Rs.1.5 Cr. Whether He can opt for Composition Levy for Services (Turnover Below Rs.50 Lakha) & Goods (Turnover Below Rs. 1 Cr) for FY 2019-20 ?

--
Thanks & Regards,

CA Parag Lunkad,
SUNSVG & Associates | Chartered Accountants | 020- 27515581/ 82/83 |

Replies (6)
NO......

In terms of Notification 14/2019 CT & Read with Amendment Act , 31 of 2018, The limit for composition scheme from 1/4/2019 shall be 1.5 Crore , But he can provide services upto 10% of turnover for previous Year .

2. As per Notification 2/2018 CT (r) , whose aggregate turnover in the preceding
financial year was fifty lakh rupees or below can provide Goods & Services by Charging GST 6% on Turnover (without ITC)

Hence You do not fall under any of 2 option above .
No... He and his Service is not eligible for composition scheme...
But a person can opt for composition levy, if he is dealing in both taxable & exempt supplies?
Dear Sanket :
you are correct the person can opt for composition scheme if he is dealing in exempted & taxable supplies , But there are condition specified in above mentioned act & Notification & as per Nature of supplies with Fiqures provided by you in your query, you are not liable to Opt for composition scheme.

Kindly Refer Notification 14/2019 CT with Amendment Act 31, of 2018 & Notification 2/2018 CT (r)

Mixed suppliers, having maximum turnover of upto Rs.40 lakhs in preceeding year can only opt for composition scheme.

You cannot opt for Composition Scheme.
Follow Pankaj Sir's explanation.
Very well explained