3CD/3CB

171 views 1 replies
short details about 3CD/3CB
Replies (1)

Forms 3CB and 3CD are mandatory audit reporting documents under Section 44AB of the Income Tax Act, 1961. They are filed by a Chartered Accountant (CA) to certify that a taxpayer’s financial accounts comply with income tax laws.

The Key Distinction

• Form 3CB: This is the Audit Report itself. It is used specifically for taxpayers whose accounts are not required to be audited under any other law (such as the Companies Act). If you are a proprietorship or partnership that does not have a statutory audit requirement, you file Form 3CB.

• Note: If you are a company or an entity already required to undergo an audit under another law, you would file Form 3CA instead of Form 3CB.

• Form 3CD: This is the Statement of Particulars. It is an extensive annexure containing 44 clauses that detail the taxpayer’s financial transactions, such as turnover, expenses, tax deductions, depreciation, and loans.

Regardless of whether you file 3CA or 3CB, Form 3CD must be attached as an annexure to the audit report.

Summary Table

Feature Form 3CB Form 3CD
Type Audit Report Statement of Particulars (Annexure)
Purpose Certifies books of accounts Provides detailed tax/financial data
When to use If no other law requires an audit Mandatory for every tax audit
Contents Auditor's observations/declarations 44 detailed clauses of financial info

Who needs these?

A tax audit is generally required if:

• Business: Total sales, turnover, or gross receipts exceed ₹1 crore (or ₹10 crore if cash transactions are less than 5% of total receipts/payments).

• Profession: Gross receipts exceed ₹50 lakh.

• Presumptive Taxation: You are opting for presumptive schemes (like 44AD/44ADA) but report income lower than the deemed profits and your total income exceeds the basic exemption limit.

Summary: Form 3CB is the report for entities not audited under other laws, while Form 3CD is the detailed information annexure required for all tax audits.

23 July 2026

Vikram Jadhav and Company

Pune

14 July 2026