Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

F No 370149/230/2017- TPL 
Government of India 
Ministry of Finance 
Department of Revenue 
Central Board of Direct Taxes 
(TPL Division) 

New Delhi, August 2, 2019 


In order to review the existing Income-tax Act, 1961 and to draft a new direct tax law in consonance with economic needs of the country, the Government had constituted a Task Force vide Office Order of even number dated November 22, 2017. 

2. The Task Force has since been reconstituted under Shri Akhilesh Ranjan, Member (Legislation), CBDT vide Order of even number dated November 26, 2018, other terms and conditions remaining the same except that the Task Force was authorised to co-opt any person as Member, if considered necessary. Accordingly, Ms Pragya S Saksena IRS 87004, Principal Commissioner of Income-tax (OSD), New Delhi was co-opted as Member vide office order of even number dated December, 21, 2018. 

3. As per the Order of even number dated November 26, 2018, the Task Force so reconstituted was required to submit its report to the Government by February 28, 2019. Vide Order dated February 28, 2019, the term of the Task Force was extended by a period of three months, i.e., May 31, 2019 which was further extended by a period of two months, i.e., July 31, 2019 Vide Office Order dated May 27, 2019. 

4. Further, vide office order dated June 24, 2019, Shri Krishnamurthy Subramanian, Chief Economic Advisor (CEA) and Shri Ritvik Pandey, Joint Secretary (Revenue) were nominated as members of the Task Force and the Terms of Reference were broadened. 

5. As per the terms and conditions, the Task Force was required to submit its final report by July 31, 2019. However, the new members of the Task Force were nominated only on June 24, 2019 and a request has been made for more time to reflect on the report. 

6. The Task Force is now required to submit its report on or before August 16, 2019. 

7. This issues with the approval of the Finance Minister. 

(Saurabh Gupta) 
Under Secretary (TPL)-III 
Tel: 011-2309 5468 

Copy to:
(I) The Convener and Members of the Task Force 
(ii) PS to FM/ PS to MoS (Finance)
 (iii) Sr PPS to Revenue Secretary 
(iv) PS to Chairman (CBDT) 
(v) The JS (Revenue), DoR 
(vi) All officers in TPL & TPRU 

Saurabh Gupta
Under Secretary (TPL)-III

Tags :  


Popular News

caclubindia books caclubindia books caclubindia books Book

Browse by Category