what are the steps to be taken by SSI units

807 views 6 replies

Dear sir 

One of our client a SSI unit manufacturing firm, manufacturing Castic Soda, during the month February 2011 its turnover crossed the limit of1.50 crores. What are the steps to be taken by the company  with regard to Central Excise. Kindly guide me  

Replies (6)

If you have crossed Rs.150 lakhs, get registered under Central Excise and start paying duty. Intimate invoice numbers. File ER-3 quarterely. For registration, log in to aces.gov.in

Sorry for posting in this thread but it's relavent i feel.

My customers purchase order has Basic Excise Duty :4% , but my unit is new, It has not yet crossed 1.5C

What shall I do?

there is no Basic excise duty rate @ 4% ....its 10% in general . please share your commodity sub heading number to discuss more

https://www.livemint.com/2010/03/03001655/A-vision-of-corrugated-boxes-a.html

I'm not sure of commodity sub heading but you can refer to the link above.

its 48.19, and the exemption is conditional , that its available to only those manufacturers who buy "kraft paper from market, and the entire process from buying to finish of boxes is done in their factory only"

exemption notification no 04/2006 as amended by 10/2010

The manufacturer who is liable to pay excise duty can avail the credit of the excise duty paid stocks in hand as well as in progress and the capital goods credit.

This maybe used for payment of excise duty payable in normal course.