Tds on transportation w.e.f 1st june 2015

TDS 64557 views 36 replies

According to what i read in one of the Union Budget book, now one has to deduct TDS on Transport if the transporter has more then 10 goods carrier.
Kindly Confirm it…

‘Clarification regarding deduction of tax from payments made to
transporters [Section 194C (6)] :
Under the existing provisions contained in sub-section (6) of the section 194C,
no deduction shall be made from any sum credited or paid during the previous
year to the account of a contractor during the course of business of plying, hiring
or leasing goods carriages, on furnishing of his Permanent Account Number
(PAN), to the person paying or crediting such sum. The intention was to exempt
only small transporters as defined in S 44E of the Act.
The Bill proposes to amend sub-section (6) of the said section so as to
provide that no deduction shall be made from any sum credited or paid during
the previous year to the account of a contractor during the course of business
of plying, hiring or leasing goods carriages, where such contractor owns ten
or less than ten goods carriages at any time during the previous year and
furnishes a declaration to that effect along with his (PAN), to the person
paying or crediting such sum.
This amendment will take effect from 1st June, 2015.’

And how can one know whether the transporter has less then 10 goods carrier or more..

Will the transporter give declaration about how many carriers he owns during that year ?

Replies (36)

Yeah, from June 2015, u need to deduct tax on such transactions if required declaration is not given by the transporter. If the transporter does not want u to deduct tax, then he is obliged to give such a declaration

Please provide word file of format for such declaration. Also please mark at places for stamp sign. Can such certification be given by a CA on his letterhead. What if the declaration provided is false.

I have a propritorship firm as a transport.Iam working as a transport contractor with a cement company LTD.

When i submit my bill against transportation charges in Apr-15. they have deducted 2%tds from my bii amount.

So tell me is it applicable on my firm or is this rule for companies.

If it is real than should i also deduct tds by trucks freight if yes than how much %.

Well thats my point...

Additional Paper work under this clause... and the clause doesnt mention of any such declaration or any certificate to be obtain from any transporter or his CA, or any new Form (just like 15G/H or Form 13) for transporter in order to claim exemption from deduction of TDS.

Poornima ji can you please provide more detail on the required declaration ?

@ Surana: For more details, please refer point no.4, https://www.simpletaxindia.net/2015/04/tds-rate-chart-fy-2015-16-ay-2016-17-tds-due-date-chart-fy-2015-16.H T M L#axzz3nITXZfk5

@ Jamil: At present no tax needs to be deducted by your client if u have furnished PAN. W.e.f. June 2015, u r required to give declaration (refer above link), in which case no TDS else it is applicable. If not, TDS 1% is deductible as it is a proprietorship concern.

In any case, since it is a proprietorship concern, payer needs to deduct 1% tax only (not 2%) even at present.

You need to apply same provisions when u pay freight charges.

Suppose you are not able to get back the tax already deducted, u can also claim the same while filing IT return.

@ Poornima ji the link you provided is not available... 404.. PAGE NOT FOUND

Sorry, I think something wrong. Please refer (section 194c)

https://www.simpletaxindia.net/2015/03/proposed-amendments-in-tdstcs.H T M L

kindly go through the link provided by poornima ji  :- 

https://www.simpletaxindia.net/2015/03/proposed-amendments-in-tdstcs.H T M L

copy and paste the above link and delete the last four words H T M L and mannually write H T M L without space and in small letter after tdstcs. and then you will get the solution.

Here is the right link https://www.simpletaxindia.net/2015/03/proposed-amendments-in-tdstcs.H T M L
I think there is some bug, please follow shubham for solution @ Shubham: thanks

my pleasure, poornima ji!

Well i tried it... but still cant open this link....

I tried to search on google "TDS Rate Chart for FY 2015-2016" and could not find anything written about Transportation TDS on other sites too...