TDS on DDA Flat Purchase

1493 views 20 replies

My Sister and Brother-In-Law has bought a DDA Flat in Joint Name directly from DDA. All the payment has been done through my Sister's account.

DDA has asked them to deposite 1% TDS and submit the Form 26 QB. 

Should only my Sister pay the entire TDS, generate & submit Form 26 QB? Or

Should both of them deposite (50%-50%) of the TDS amount and generate & submit two Form 26 QB?

Kindly guide us.

Best Regards, Vishwajeet

Replies (20)

If the agreement has been registerred in both name, both the purchaser should deduct TDS for their share in the property, irrespective of payment made.

@ Dhirajlal Ji

Don't you think, perhaps it is better for them to check & confirm from DDA, since the payment was made from only one account and the registration deed would be showing that single payment. It would have been already uploaded to the Income Tax Authorities by DDA

The payer is not sent, only receipt of total consideration is reported. & the buyers' names as per allotment letter is reported.

@ Dhirajlal ji

I know of cases where joint purchasers' names and proportional amounts paid have been reported by the sub registrar to the Income Tax authorities.

That may be rare. They report total agreememt value & circle rate. & if your TDS matches with the value, ITD do not bother you.

Correct, the shares of all the purchased based on total value is sent; not the amount paid by each.

@ Dhirajlal Ji

Namaskar & thanks for your valuable feedback.

Thanks for you suggestions. What is the final suggestion, should both of them file the TDS?

@ Vishwajeet R Kamal

As per first reply of Dirajlal Ji yesterday:-

If the agreement has been registerred in both name, both the purchaser should deduct TDS for their share in the property, irrespective of payment made.

Sir, The allotment letter has both the names and coveynce deed will be registered after the payment of TDS and other dues.

Conveyance will be registered in both the names and if specific shares of ownership is not determined, it is taken as 50:50. Thus it is advisable to deduct TDS by both purchasers equally.

Thanks a lot Sir! Lots of Gratitude!!

You are welcome.                      

If you’re buying a DDA flat above ₹50 lakhs, you need to deduct 1% TDS under Section 194-IA and deposit it with the government. Many assume it doesn’t apply since DDA is a government body, but the rule still stands. In my view, it’s a simple process once you know it—file Form 26QB online and issue Form 16B to DDA. Just like how compliance plays a big role in sectors like the Australia Trade Finance Market, timely filing here avoids penalties and keeps the transaction smooth.