TCS ON SALE OF GOODS IN SUBSEQUENT F.Y.

In f.y. 2020-21 my sale is 10 crore to single party so i collected TCS from 1st oct 2020, now in current F.Y. i.e. 2021-22 do i need to collect TCS in april itself (when receipt is less then 50 lacs) OR shall i wait for receipt exceeding 50 lacs and then collect TCS.
Replies (7)
Quick Summary
This discussion clarifies the rules for collecting Tax Collected at Source (TCS) on the sale of goods in a new financial year. If your sales to a single party exceeded ₹50 lakhs in the previous financial year, you need to start collecting TCS in the current financial year once the receipts exceed the ₹50 lakh threshold. It's also noted that if the buyer deducts TDS under Section 194Q, you don't need to collect TCS on the same transaction. The timing of payment receipt versus sale booking is also considered, especially if a sale is booked in March but payment is received in April.

Wait to cross the limit to 50 Lakh

TCS applicable after exceeding the threshold limit of ₹50 lacs.

Also if tax is deducted at source u/s 194q by the buyer, no need to collect TCS on the same transaction.

Agree with Poornima Ji
But what if sale booked in march month and payment received in april.

If so, no TDS u/s 194Q is applicable in this case.

Further, since TCS is applicable on receipts and if the receipts are within threshold limit of 50lacs in April, no TCS even if the sale is recorded in March and the payment received in April.

Agree with above
Sourav you are replying twice the same answer just for getting points or 250/- reward on CAClubindia.

what is sense of yes or no, just for point..

Please respect this reputed profession and stop making fun of public platform.

It's already told by reputed member to you that stop replying without any base just for points

If you are not Stop this, I have to make complaint to block your account.

20 July 2026
Senior GST Executive

Chandak Agarwal & Co

Mumbai

Graduate (Any)

11 July 2026