Taxability of reimbursement of conveyance expenses

Tax planning 7500 views 3 replies

Dear collegeaues,

Whether following supportings are admissble from exemption from Income Tax on account of reimbursement of expenses by employers.

1. Two/Four wheeler fuel expenses

2. Two/Four wheeler repair and maintainance

3. Auto Riksha Charges for conveyance of family members

4. School bus fee paid to school

5. Driver expenses Two/Four wheeler

6. Fuel expenses incurred by family members

7. What would be scenario if Transport Allowance @ Rs.800/- PM also provided by the employer.

Kindly jostify on the above with expert opinion.

Thanks & Regards

Replies (3)

you have two questions

1. employer will get the deduction as expenses if employer will reimbuse expenses on the bases of supporting as you mentioned

2. if employer pays transport allowance that is part of your salary than you will get exemption u/s 10 (14)(i) @ 800 pm irrespective of any supporting.

3. but as per section 10 (14)(i) conveyance allowance is exempt from tax to the extent of actual expenditure or conveyance allowance W.E.L. 

subject to that if employee maintains log book with respect to every travelling and amount spent.

Dear Sudesh Ji,

Thanks for response..

I agree with the reply on Transport Allowance Rs. 800/- per month,

In light of above query I want to submit following logic that payment of "School bus fee" should be admissible;

1. This is not the expenses to education fee,

2. If school bus not used, employee himself or with any other mode arrange to the childern school.

3. The nature of expenses is conveyance.

4. School provides the receipt as evidence of expenses incurred by employee.

Kindly also clear that fuel and maintainance expenses by family members of the employee are admissible?

Thanks & Regards

K.L.Paliwal

Dear sir, firstly school bus fees will not come under education allowance because it is paid to the transporter and not to educational institution. Next these expenses reimbursment will not allowed as conveyance expenses as not incurred for the company purpose. On ther matters mr.gupta is very correct. I hope now your query is resolved. Regards