STRATEGY TO PREPARE FOR THE CA EXAMS

CA Madhukiran Reddy (CHARTERED ACCOUNTANT) (12714 Points)

29 August 2010  

STRATEGY TO PREPARE FOR THE CA EXAMS

A lot has been said about the manner in which one can prepare for CA. The course material along with the examination pattern makes it one of the toughest exam in India to pass. But if approached systematically, a lot more productivity can be achieved with the same efforts. 
Before coming to exact topic, I would like to tell you a little about myself. I am a average student like most of us, however was able to get through the CA IPCC exams in first attempt single sitting only. However, while doing so, I realized that there are certain small plans that we can make and that helps a lot in exams. We all are not gifted with the great brain, but whatever little we have , we have to use the same to analyze our strengths and weakness and then work in a manner to overcome that or at best bypass them. I adopted the same strategy in my preparations, let me elaborate on some of the methods: 

1. Plan:

a. This is one of the most initial requirements. Our plans for study should be made well in advance, and the same should be made at the earliest possible time i.e. from the time of the enrollment for the exams.
b. The plan should take in consideration all our weaknesses, the plan should never be very aggressive, and rather the same should be pretty conservative only. For instance, even for the subject that you are sure that you require less days, then also you should put enough buffer into that for some contingencies 
c. No matter what, once the plan has been finalized, you should stick to the plan, you can better the same, and generate some additional time, but should never cross the timeline.
d. The planning can be done in following manner:
i. 
Macro Planning: Needs to be done on the overall basis on the subject level. Following can be the suggested milestones: