GST Plus - Get Daily updates,support, whatsapp Group & reply to GST Notices etc.!! Call : 011-411-70713 !!

ICICI

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Shivdutt Pal   23 September 2021

Eligibility of TAN

Hello I am working as a travel agent so the first party asking me cut TDs Or collect tcs on sources so should I apply for TAN in sole firm? 

6 Replies

JGM

JGM (Knowledge Sharer)     23 September 2021

An individual is required to do TDS only if his turnover or gross receipts exceeds INR 1 crore (in case of business) / INR 50 lakhs (in case of profession). Hence, if you satisfy this condition, you need to deduct tax from eligible payments

Shivdutt Pal

Sir actually the function is that as a travel agent I buy a tickets from airlines or anywhere and sell to customer with adding some margin so this case first ask me to deduct our TDs due to enough amount which is eligible for deduction

But we are on initial stage of business like 9 months have done from commencement of business (sole proprietor) so in this case do we need to take TAN number to deduct TDs or have to talk with first regarding the threshold limit or something else? 

Shivdutt Pal

First means first party 

sabyasachi mukherjee

sabyasachi mukherjee   24 September 2021

You can deduct tds if you hv the TAN.
AN INDIVIDUAL HAVING PAN CANNOT DEDUCT TDS AS AN INDIVIDUAL.
JGM

JGM (Knowledge Sharer)     24 September 2021

The requirement of obtaining is only if you are liable to deduct tax. Based on the facts, it appears that the first party is stating you to deduct tax on their behalf and then remit it to you. In other words, 

Company X has to pay Rs. 50,000 (presume) to you as commission

You would be collecting the money and after keeping your commission, sending the balance to Company X

Hence, it appears that Company X has asked you to deduct tax from Rs. 50,000.